My Garden Journal: Oregano Propagation Journey

in #hivegarden8 months ago

Hey there, fellow green thumbs and plant enthusiasts of the Hive Garden community,

Today, I've got a super exciting gardening adventure to share with you. It all started with a tiny stem, a dash of rainwater, and a sprinkle of curiosity. Fasten your seatbelts, folks, because we're diving into my oregano propagation journey, and trust me, it's a leafy delight!

So, picture this: I received a pot of oregano from a gardening buddy. But here's the twist – this wasn't your regular oregano. No, It's the kind with the tiniest leaves that chefs adore. But here's the catch, I didn't know exactly which variety it was. Mystery plants are just part of the fun, right?

On September 9th, I embarked on this leafy experiment. I clip a stem from that oregano plant which is the source and gently submerged it into a repurposed condiment bottle filled with rainwater. Why rainwater, you ask? Well, it's pure, clean, and, most importantly, free from any chemicals. Plus, it's like giving your plant a refreshing drink straight from nature.

IMG_0780.JPG
There are small roots that appeared after a day or two
Every day, I eagerly checked on my little oregano buddy. And guess what? It didn't disappoint. Tiny roots started to appear like nature's own magic trick. In just two days, those roots were longer and more pronounced. It's like the plant knew it was on a mission to thrive!

IMG_0781.JPG
I noticed that the roots will most likely spring from the stem above the water

Now, here's where the story takes a twist. I didn't have a fancy pot ready for my oregano. So, I did what any resourceful gardener would do – I found a cozy spot in an existing pot where my eggplant was growing. Talk about multitasking in the garden, right?

IMG_0794.JPG
I temporarily planted the stem with roots on my eggplant pot

Now, about that oregano variety – I'm still on a mission to identify it. It's got these teeny-tiny leaves that chefs adore for adding flavor to dishes. If you've got any insights or ideas, please share them in the comments. Let's solve this leafy mystery together

Oregano Care Tips :

Now, before I sign off on this green adventure, let's talk care tips. Oregano, regardless of the variety, is a hardy herb. It loves lots of sunlight and well-drained soil. Water it when the soil is dry, but don't overdo it. And remember, the more you use those flavorful leaves, the more your oregano will thrive. It's a win-win

IMG_0792.JPG
this slender condiment bottle is helpful in keeping the stem upright
IMG_0793.JPG
Today September 11 the roots grew longer ready for potting

The parent plant or source

IMG_0784.JPG
This parent plant looks sad and does not seem to grow I am afraid I might lose it just like my rosemary herb so I tried my best to propagate it hope this experiment will succeed

So, there you have it, my gardening buddies – my oregano propagation journey, complete with tiny leaves, mystery varieties, and lots of leafy love. Stay tuned for more plant adventures, and until next time, happy gardening!

Until next time. Hive On
@quatro