What does Hive Mean to Me?

in #hiveimpact4 years ago

Like many of you I feel energized and excited in a way I haven't felt in years with the launch of Hive, and it seemed like participating in @theycallmedan's What Does Hive Mean To Me? Initiative would be a good way to express that excitement and take a little break from working.

What is HIVE to you?

To me Hive, is a monumental achievement. In my first Hive post I talked about how I never in a million years would have imagined that the things that have led to the creation of Hive could have happened, and how it involved numerous amazing and unprecedented events in the entire blockchain space.

No matter what happens in the end, Hive will always be an example of the principles of decentralization in action and the power of a community.

What do you want to see HIVE evolve into?

I want to see Hive evolve into the same thing I wanted to see Steem evolve into - the blockchain and cryptocurrency that powers the first blockchain-based applications that achieve significant levels of mainstream usage.

It's already leading in that regard, but that's not saying much as the number of real users across all blockchain-based applications is amazingly small. I consider significant levels of mainstream usage to be over 1M real, active users, as compared to the tens of thousands that it has today.

That was the potential that I saw for Steem years ago when I joined, but obviously the opportunity was completely squandered. Now the opportunity is back again, and it would be significantly more impressive if it can be pulled off without a centralized organization running things.

It seems to me that the vast majority of blockchain-based apps are only focusing on the existing cryptocurrency community, which makes sense because it's much easier and even though it's a small number of people there is a LOT of money there. But the first blockchain platform to get millions of real people using it - not just trading tokens, but actually using applications built on it - will be a tremendous accomplishment for validity and future of the entire industry.

Hive has a good chance to be that first blockchain platform to make it happen, and that's what I want to see it become.

What do you think about having a large funded DAO for future HIVE development?

Being able to fund development is important, but that doesn't do much on its own. It's how those funds are used and the execution of the projects being funded that will really shape the future of the platform. As an example, Steemit, Inc had a large fund for Steem development and we all know how that turned out.

It will also be very interesting to see if it can be effectively managed as a DAO. I expect it will take a good deal of organization and coordination to get this platform to the 1M+ real users that I would like to see, and I don't think a bunch of small, one-off projects will get it there.

What I will be looking for with the DAO is the following:

  1. Will good projects be submitted by good teams to build everything that the platform needs?
  2. Will those projects get the required community support to be funded?
  3. Will there be enough oversight to ensure that projects making good progress continue to receive adequate funding and that projects not making good progress stop being funded so that funds are not wasted?

This will require a lot of people to care and pay attention to what is going on, which is unfortunately a rare occurrence, but it has happened once here already so I'm optimistic it can happen again.

What does HIVE mean to you?

To me, Hive means renewed opportunity. Steem has been called "the blockchain of opportunity" in the past and that's something I have always liked and agreed with. I know it was said by Ned, but I'm pretty sure he just took that from someone else and passed it off as his own like pretty much everything else, so I'm ok with liking and agreeing with it.

In any case, I believe that Steem was a "blockchain of opportunity", but the opportunity was completely and utterly missed. Now the dead weight is lost, funding is available, and I feel that the opportunity is back and I'm excited to see what will come of it!


Note: All rewards from this post will go to the Hive Development Fund to support the development of the Hive platform.

Sort:  

I love this { Hive means renewed opportunity.} Great job my friend I am so happy to just find out my wallet is now working and that I can upvote and cooment now, woot! I now have renewed hope for an awesome future!👍✌✊💪💯 Upped and resteemed

cool image lol

Glad you like my Bitmoji thanks!

Let's see where this is going...

The blockhain of opportunity it is!

Although I must said I'm a little bit worried with that huge stake in the DAO. Maybe reduce it a little bit trough burning.

Hive is a great opportunity! I'm pretty new here but I feel I will find my place here.

To opportunities!

I’d love to hear what opportunities you have! I myself have websites that make 5 figures a month passive income that I can help teach people how to do! If anyone is interested let me know or can email me [email protected]

I'm still searching for my own way! It's great to hear about your success! Maybe I'll write you a message :)

I am looking for people to work with on stuff so if your interested you should message me for sure! I’ve been doing it all myself, but it’s getting to much for just me, especially since I want to continue to grow!

What do you have in mind? You can contact me on Telegram - @bagofincome

This change really brought a new live to a lot of the creators and developers ❤

It's the developers who go the extra mile to build tools designed to be used by others who are really going to make this thing pop. Keychain, Openseed, steem-engine, Hive-engine etc.

Every day we have an opportunity to craft and create something unique. Something, that could probably defy our fate.
Every day we have the chance to be great!

with love, @spellmaker

I'm glad we all want Hive to be used for more than just trading. However we need to compete in our niche, social media! We can't be the top if we focus on being top blockchain based applications.

I hear people talk less about the economic incentives behind Hive and I'm interested to hear your thoughts. Do we need to change something? I think if we direct incentives we can see natural growth from dApp makers, content creators, users .. etc

I wrote my opinion here
https://peakd.com/hiveimpact/@lifeaef/what-does-hive-mean-to-me-don-t-wait-for-changes

The blockchain of decentralization and censorship resistance is what Hive means to me. I got censored by Steemit Inc on two of my posts that were barely critical of Justin Sun.... Its amazing how bad it is getting on steemit.

HIVE = FREEDOM

Damn. Feels so good to read and I completely agree with what you've mentioned above. I think we're almost in the same time joining Steem. I'm not sure though.

I just hope that maybe in this place, real curation starts. Not by curation accounts, but by people in general. It was the Steem/it before, people are curating. I just kinda missed that part of Steem, where minnows like us feel so empowered.

Many like you and I share that same emotion, hopefully hive will position itself among the best decentralized platforms

Hive is a place to connect with community. To share your thoughts and feelings with your community. To grow with your community both spiritually and financially. Hive is community, which in turn is about relationships, which is the most important thing in this world!

9wte0p.jpg

Great post. Love your outlook ;)

hive is: a fresh start to the blockchain of opportunity
A look forward to the evolution, growth and community

This will push me to write my own also. Hive is the future to me