You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A peer-to-peer network for sharing and rating information

in #hivemind3 years ago

I haven't had time to read Dan's book yet, but I worked with him for a few years, so I'd guess I'm aware of many of his ideas. Still I'll definitely make time at some point to read it, since I'm sure his ideas have evolved quite a bit since then. Dan's a very intelligent guy, but I think he frequently misunderstands most people, or at least fails to predict their behavior well, simply because he's quite different than most people, and he often seems to miss where those differences exist.

On the voting subject, I thinking that a rating system has interesting potential implications for voting, governance, and even economics. But that's really getting into the speculative area, so I doubt I'll be talking about that much until we have working prototypes.