You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing a public Hivemind node

in #hivemind5 years ago (edited)

Written in Python

This node is in public use for the hobbyist developers. Hivemind itself is on the alpha state and may not be production ready.

Nice work any how. Much appreciated!

Sort:  

For me, it's exactly the opposite. One of the reasons that I like Hivemind it's coded on my beloved Python :)

I really like Python. I'm getting to use it at work recently and have experimented a little with Steem stuff.

So, we have a few nodejs maximalists on the SFR discord and I feel a bit outnumbered being more inclined to use Python.

Perhaps it's just because it was the first one I started learning but had dabbled with Java back in my high school Comp Sci.

How would you describe the advantages of Python over other languages?

Contrasted from PowerShell (which I believe is a language based around .net), I know that Python seems to be much more slim syntactically. (Ie for loops much simpler. Forgot those damn curly braces!)

IIRC Java is a compiled language while Python is interpreted so perhaps that has some significance.