I go heavy....hivenaija prompt #35.

in #hivenaija4 months ago

Good day everyone on hive. It's great to be here in this community. First time posting.

IMG-20240121-WA0061.jpg!

I want to share my view on the prompt for the week. Whenever I travel, I go heavy. As an igbo woman from Eastern Nigeria, it's a thing of joy whenever I'm traveling to the village with big luggages.

IMG_20240228_154716_225.jpg

Those in the village usually feel that those who live in big cities are growing money on trees,hence they want to see me with big bags whenever I come to the village.

From Lagos to east sometimes take about 12 to 14 hours, this is when the vehicle is in good order and the roads are free. Sometimes it can become a long and tiring journey of two days if the vehicle is bad or there is heavy traffic on the road. Even though I don't like long travels, I still can't help but embark on it because there's no place like home.

My experience with carrying big luggages is not really funny at all. After arriving at the motor park,I still have to haggle price with the garage boys or motor park boys so that they can allow my luggage to be included in the cargo section of the luxurious bus.

Next is that I have to be watchful over my luggage so that another passenger will not carry my luggage as theirs. I also carry a small hand bag where I keep small essentials that I would need during the journey.

The way I pack my luggage is quite funny as well because I pack heavily. There are blouses of several colours,with matching wrapper scarfs and shoes to match. I need to represent well as an igbo woman.

IMG_20240228_154213_969.jpg

There is also another bag for makeup items because as a woman, packaging is very important and I won't travel without it. Depending on the occasion for the travelling, I will also carry special attire that suits that occasion.

IMG_20240228_154810_341.jpg

I recall one time,I was on my way to Port Harcourt from Lagos. It was a women's conference and it would last for one week. I packed blouses according to the dress code for every day of the program. You guys need to have seen my luggage that time, I travelled like I was the host for the program. Thank God we were given hostels to lodge in and that saved me the stress of carrying the luggage here and there on church grounds.

So whenever I travel, it's always massive luggages for me.

Thanks for reading.

All images used in this post are mine.

Sort:  

I like the way you represent the Eastern tribe wella.

Going with a heavy luggage is a no no for me because I won't be free.

Well done ma, you are a naijan and so you are welcome to this community.
🤗

Thank you so much I appreciate.

You are welcome