A Promise Kept

in #hiveparents2 years ago (edited)

image.png



Dear Ms. @Unorgmilitia's Mom,

Your son loves you. How do I know this for a fact? Because he wants to share his life online with you and asked me to write a post (letter) explaining why you should join Hive. I promised him I would do just that, so here we go.



image.png



I joined the blockchain over four years ago because my son kept bugging me to join. I did not want to. I wasn't a blogger, writer, vlogger. I really did not see why he was so adamant about me making an account and trying to learn to blog.

My son kept telling me that it would be good for me healthwise to join. He didn't let up. To be honest, he used many words like cryptocurrency, blockchains, and a bunch of others that meant nothing to me. I didn't see the need to learn about fake online mumbo jumbo at my age.



But



My son, now living in Colombia, South America, asked me. I miss him living close to me. When we get older and our kids get older, we can grow apart. I am not saying you love them less. It's about having common interests to discuss with them in the years to come. It is also something fun you can do with your child, that is now an adult.

I whined, kicked, and might have growled at him when he asked me for the twentieth time if I had written down my Master Key on a piece of paper while making my blockchain account. I didn't do it, and I SHOULD have, and so should anyone reading this!!!

You, yes You! Stop right now. Go get a pen and paper. Real paper. Write down your Master Key. Put that paper in a very safe place. No, not right next to your desk. You will not move it to a safe place later. I promise to wait right here until your master Key is secure.



image.png

Ready? No? Okay, still waiting...



Yes, your master key is that important. Let's move on, shall we?

I figured I would humor my son. Make the account, write a few posts, and then be on my merry way. Four plus years later, I am still here. I have learned to write, blog, vlog, make art, and so much more. My son was right.

Joining the blockchain was the best thing I have ever done for myself in my lifetime. Please do not tell my son I said he was correct, though...it might go to his head, and I do not know if I can live with that hanging over me. 😹

The above are some of the most important reasons you can join your kids on Hive. Now let's talk about why you should join Hive and what you really need to know when you first make an account.



image.png



The first thing you need to do is make a cool user name. This is a name everyone on Hive will know you as. It can be any name you want, but I would highly suggest it doesn't have numbers in it, and the name has some meaning to you.

Send the name to your son and have him make sure the name is not already taken. To be honest, finding a username you like that is not taken is the most challenging part.



If your son lives close enough, have them come over and make you an account. If he doesn't live close, get on a voice call with them, so if you have any questions, they are right there to answer you.

Once the account has been made and your master key is written down on paper and put in a safe place, have your son send you a delegation of at least 100HP. You do not need to know what that means to move on. His delegation to you is a loan, so you can be active on Hive. 100HP or more will let you make posts and comments to your heart's content.

Your first post should be an #introducemyself post. This will be an easy post for you to write. #mysonmademedoit pretty much will take care of that. 😸



image.png



What can you use Hive for?

Anything you want.

The problem with this answer is it doesn't help you in any way, or it didn't help me. So here are some suggestions I can offer while not knowing anything about you personally.

Write out all of your family recipes. One a day, once a week, one when you have time.

Write about your daily life.

Write about being a Mom, a daughter.

Write about any interest you have.

I think you get the idea.

You might be thinking no one wants to read any of that. I am here to say it doesn't matter. Your son will want to read it. What more can you ask for? 😻



image.png



The best thing about Hive is you can learn at your own pace. You do not need to know anything about blockchains or cryptocurrency until you want to, if ever. Even after being here four-plus years, there are more things I do not know about those subjects than I know, and it has not stopped me from having a ball.

There are many kind people on Hive and places to get help should you need it. Please, give Hive a try and make your son happy. It can not hurt but only bring you and your son closer.

Thank you for taking the time to read my message. I owe a lot to Hive and the people here. We help each other if we can, even when we have just met, as your son and I did.

Love,
Snook



Help someone smile today. It can not hurt you.


Snook



All photos are mine unless otherwise stated.



Gif made by @Snook



Sort:  

I'll keep it under my fedora.
My kid's don't really care about Hive. Maybe they saw the long hours I spent to make a sub-dollar post for so long that impressed their minds, "It's not worth the effort!" There I go again, I'm being so negative again among the happy people of Hive. I'm still a work-in-progress.

The Happy people do not always write what they are really thinking. loll

and you make a very great point. I know a lot of people that have left just for that reason!! That is why building relationships is so important here. It keeps you coming back :D

Thank you for your insightful comment!!

OOOH SNAP!!!! You are quick!!

when you get older you either do it while you remember about it or.............. what were we talking about??

:D

I hope this helps!!

Dunno whats going on with the images, they arnt loading.. oh well! Im gonna share it with my mom soon!

When she joins... Make sure you give me her account too ...now I want to see who our new friend is gonna be...hahahaha

If he forgets... Tell.me who she is @snook!!! Hahaha

I won't forget!

hehehehe thank you!!!! and i agree with snook - if you're nearby - just go set her up, and keep a copy of her keys and then put her in front of the blog and tell her to start sharing! hahahahaha

but make sure you put her on a nice front end! @peakd is SO nice for the formatting!!!

but @ecency gives awesome points too!!!!

and those points are GREAT when you want to promote or boost people (even yourself! heheh)

She will probably stick with whatever she starts with! So start her on one that is going to grow with her (and on her!) my suggestion hehehe

Hahahahhahahahaha!!!!!!

Please let me know if this helped!!

Loading...

It is really great seeing you do amazing stuff in the blockchain and I appreciate every part of it. Keep up the good work moving.

Thank You!! and Thank you for stopping to read!!

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Funny thing: my son got me started on Hive, too! And, like you, I'm having a ball! Hurray for us!