You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Regarding Hivewatchers and Spaminator

I'm not a fan of Discord but there's no better alternative for now. That may change and I hope it does, especially if Discord starts collecting user data in an invasive way like Whatsapp does. We're watching what they're doing carefully. It's not realistic to use comments. There can be a better way on Hive but it has to be built. I do have some ideas but I can't take it on right now, there is a pile of deliverables waiting.

Cheetah is not something I can speak for. It's not mine, I can't operate it even if I had the code, it's not worth discussing at this point.

Yeah, what people have suggested before is instead of downvotes to limit the visibility of accounts on frontends. We won't go that route. The other train of thought in suggestions was to turn Spaminator into a low-quality-content tracking bot but I refuse to do that. Both avenues are extremely immoral.

On Hive we're still dealing with the fallout from Steem years. There was a lot of toxicity built up. I have an old post somewhere about it. It's not going to get fixed in just a year. Completely agree on improvements, that's why I welcome all discussions. We're pretty much on the same page.

Sort:  
"I'm not a fan of Discord, but there's no better alternative for now."

Thank The Pond Gods for that!
Mmm? I agree about data harvesting. I do think conversation logs are OK in a public dialogue. Obviously, in a DM or PM, that would be up to both parties to authorise. I'm a bit of a zealot when it comes to transparency unless there's an excellent reason why something should be kept from us, for example, personal safety etc.

"Yeah, what people have suggested before is instead of downvotes to limit the visibility of accounts on frontends. "

Totaly behind you on that. If Hive is a Free as in speech....... platform, people will have to learn to accept there will be folk who will say and possibly do things they do not like. It's about how we educate them to modify their activity OR! Accept that maybe we have the wrong attitude, but we can only come to that conclusion through dialogue; simply shutting someone down diminishes ALL OF US because we've failed to resolve a problem and resorted to drastic measures.

I wrote this the other day. You might want to think about my suggestions, or not. 🤷‍♂️
https://ecency.com/hive/@dickturpin/re-wilmetcalfe-2021715t10921298z

"On Hive, we're still dealing with the fallout from Steem years."

Yes, there was/is a witness running around downvoting anyone who says anything nice about STEEM. I find that behaviour totally offensive, even more so given it's a Witness.

    A. We should demonstrate we are better and more mature when it comes to STEEM and freedom of speech.
    B. More importantly, and I cannot overstress this! IMV, Witnesses should be beyond reproach because to me, they should be setting an example to all of us; that's why they were voted into a position of trust.
"We're pretty much on the same page."

That would make me very happy if everyone was on the same page as me. Bwahahaha. 😉
Enjoy

We don't do anything in DMs. We're not allowed to by scope. Everything must be in public Discord.

We can't shut someone down through a downvote. That's the educational issue we still need to deal with and the relic from Steem-thought. Once the new FAQ is out the ball will get rolling on that.

Yeah the witnesses who had their money stolen are likely downvoting. Steem has no freedom of speech. It's just a corporate website run under the guise of decentralization. In truth, there is nothing left there. It's like taking a public park, turning it into a golf course, and the locals still thinking its a public park.