The Elizabethan Period

in #hl-exclusive10 months ago

Hello everyone in the hive blockchain. I hope you’re all doing well and enjoying the weather wherever you are. Welcome to my blog.

Source

I don’t remember the last time I participated in one of hive learners’ weekly prompts. Now that I’m back, it feels so good to be able to participate in hive learners' weekly contest.

Growing up, I never liked history. My battle with history started during my elementary school days. History was a subject that was taught in my primary/elementary school. Besides the fact that I found the subject extremely boring, the stress of cramming historical dates was out of this world, and to worsen the case, my History teacher was boring- not the kind that should teach that kind of subject. In my opinion, if you want to teach people on a subject regarding lengthy and somewhat boring stories, you have to be a bit entertaining. Luckily, I made it through elementary school alive-without getting an F in history. And when I was done with history as a subject, I met it in high school. It was as if History was just waiting for me. I still didn’t like history as a subject until I got to my final year in high school. In preparation for my final exams, I was forced to read voraciously. I read lots of books on government and history, and somehow I fell in love with the subject. The truth is: history is an interesting subject. Yes, it is understandable that the dates can be difficult to cram as well as the length can make it difficult to understand. However, if you put your mind to it, you’ll find it interesting. I remember reading about colonialism in different countries. I don’t know what led to that topic, but what I remember is that I spent a night reading about colonialism in African countries.

Moving on, when it comes to the historical events I’d love to witness in person, there are a lot of things on my mind. Choosing one or two historical events out of the ones I’ve read about is quite difficult. There are different topics to talk about; Religion, war, art, literature, and so on. However, I found a way to narrow it down to literature/arts. As a literature student, I find pleasure in reading historical events that have to do with literature-books, arts, and writers. Really, there are lots of interesting historical events when it comes to literature. All you need to do is to take your time, go online and read about stuff.

As a literature student, I would have loved to witness the Elizabethan period in person.

THE ELIZABETHAN PERIOD

The Elizabethan period started in 1588 and ended in 1603. If you’re a literature student/ lover of the literary world, I’m sure this period is one of your favorites when it comes to the survey of the Epochs of literature in English. The Elizabethan period was one of the most peaceful periods in the history of English literature. It was a period under the rule of Queen Elizabeth the 1. It was a period that gave rise to literature, arts, creativity and exploration. The main reason why I love this period is because it was a time when William Shakespear (yes, the same Williams Shakespear) started writing and became famous. He wrote most of his plays during this period. Now, tell me, wouldn’t it be nice to have existed during the time William Shakespeare started writing?


Source

Not only is Willam Shakespeare the only reason why I love this period, but the “university wits” is another reason why I’m so much obsessed with this period. The University Wits were a group of people who took writing as a profession. Let me break that down: the University Wits were the first group of people to take writing as a profession. Before the advent of this group, people write for fun or hobby, but these guys saw writing as a different thing. They formed a group and started writing to make a living. These writers were educated at the university of Oxford and Cambridge and they included Christopher Malorwe, Geoorge peele, Thomas lodge,Thomas Kud, Robert Green, Thomas Noshe, and John L. These writers paved way for Williams Shakespeare- they started writing before Shakespeare- he copied their style in his works. The influence of the University Wits is still felt even till today. The University Wits paved way for Williams Shakespear, and he followed their style in his works. Today, writers also imitate William Shakespeare’s style.

Now that I’m done with the university wits, another historical and somewhat awesome event I wish I witnessed in person is the World War 1 (1914-1918) and maybe the World War 2(1939-1945). My reasons are best known to me.😂

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Congratulations @justfavour! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 21000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 22000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 4
Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 3
Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 2

If there had been no peace around the Elizabethan period, people wouldn't have the calm minds to write intelligent books and all. How that intelligence wan come? LOL.

I don't know anything about William Shakespear, and don't give much care about him, but I can imagine how he'd have been so admired for his brain and dexterity with words. That, together with the serenity they had then, that period sounds like I'd like to live in it. But I'd rather stay and have the technology we have now.

Very nice you didn't explore the WW1 and WW2 because you for explain tire and I no for see reasons with you 😂😂

I can see the joy you have with this University wits stuff because you're a literature Student... I can imagine

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @justfavour.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more