For the king! - Let's paint.

in #hobby3 years ago

So remember how know-it-all Pete said: "Meh, I'm not taking this seriously, I don't need no primer." you do need a primer if you want a half-decent job. I had to send away for some, it seems like there are not many outlets for The Army Painter brand, sure there are lots listed on the official website but when you visit the partner websites they offer the sites look and feel very much like they're not active for example the one close to me, all the images where broken which didn't fill me with a lot of confidence.

I'm so glad I bought the 'helping hands' thingy otherwise painting this would have been a nightmare!

The paints I suppose are not that expensive they range from £2.00 each to about £2.80 that depends on colour and outlet. It certainly pays to shop around I found, the same paint can be £2.00 at one site and yet £2.50 at another. Obviously, another factor to take into consideration is 'delivery' I'm trying to buy as much stuff from one site as possible to save on delivery however, it's difficult as they don't all seem to stock everything you want.
Painting
What I would say is try and use as much of the paint you've dispensed so, for example, I did a few faces and hands of some figures that I actually plan to start on after I've finished the Mortar project.

I found that it's more economical just to dispense a small blob of paint rather than squirting some out. If you just squirt it you'll waste a fair amount, so it's better to not have enough in this instance, you can always squeeze more out.

I've also discovered I might need a 'holder' like I've seen in the Youtube videos. As you can see in the above image his boots need doing again because the paint has come off where I keep handling him. (Yes, I know there's some yellow on the top of his boot. LOL).

@steevc was right, I may well have made a new friend at the local model shop. I nipped up yesterday to buy some balsa wood for the base, while I was looking at his fake lichen I said: I want some of those small grass bushes but I suspect you don't do those as you're more train orientated. I'd like something similar to that." pointing to the ground around a scale model of the Schwerer Gustav in a display case. "Here you go." he said as he handed me the perfect combination of grass and rocks (Cork crumbs) in a scenic bag plus a strip of grass bushes! Great, I'll have to ask him his name now. 😉

I could have just stuck the figures on a board but then the stands would have stood proud by a couple of mils so I bought some thin balsa, cut out the places for the figures ready for covering. The plan is to glue the second piece of balsa underneath and then glue the figures to that through the holes I made which in theory will level out the figures stands with the ground level of the board. I'm happy with the idea I came up with (no, I didn't see it in a video. LOL) but I don't think I'll do it this way on my next build.


"If you don't have enough voting power or crypto to upvote me; reshare me instead. Reshares are worth their weight in gold!"

My actual name is Pete

Find out Here why I have the username dick_turpin.


Find me on Social Media

https://mastodon.org.uk/@dick_turpin
https://twitter.com/dick_turpin
https://www.facebook.com/peter.cannon3

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
License explained: Examples
Create your license: Choose

Creative Commons Licence


Podcaster. FOSS, Linux & Creative Commons Advocate.
"Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."
Sort:  

I could have just stuck the figures on a board but then the stands would have stood proud by a couple of mils

WooHoo, you definitely go the extra mile (well, extra millimetre)!

Did you notice the paint drop in your first photo looks every much like an octopus? With some more imagination, it could also be some cartoon character, or even an alien! :)

My psychiatrist says he intends to use that instead of inkblots to test my sanity. 🤣

🤣🤣🤣

A sane psychiatrist, for sure 🤣🎶🤣

I used to love making and painting models when I was somewhere around my early teens. I used to love WWII figures, tanks and vehicles. I'm sure I've still got some of them in the loft.

I bought a bunch of aircraft models earlier in the year but haven't managed to get starting on them yet. I grabbed a cheap air compressor and airbrush too as that would obviously make me a model making God.

We are not worthy to breathe the same air as you O great one.

Looks like it's a learning experience, but these days there are likely to be loads of online tutorials. Would you class it as relaxing or stressful? I think any hobby is likely to be a mix of those. If it's too easy then there's no challenge to it.

Umm? Relaxing. I spent four hours on it yesterday and about two hours today. I could probably do it quicker but that's not the point. The main purpose is to get me away from the computer screen.

Umm? Relaxing.

Hahahaha... Though spending hours and hours getting this done, I suppose this is relaxing for your mind and as you rightly mentioned already, it takes you away from the computer screen, which may relax your eyes as well :)

Congratulations @dickturpin! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 43000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 44000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

It's today! Do not miss the opening of HiveFest⁵