Great Night For Hockey...In The South???

in #hockey6 years ago (edited)

image

Yep, I bet some of you Canadians are surprised to see us Southerners going to a hockey game, eh?

It's actually not uncommon and North Carolina has 3 professional teams that I'm aware of. We have the Carolina Hurricanes, Fayetteville Fireantz and the Winston Salem Thunderbirds.

At one point during the 2002 playoffs, a Canadian sportscaster named Don Cherry said that the Carolina Hurricanes had “the loudest building in the NHL".

The Hurricanes actually won the Stanley Cup in 2006 by defeating the Edmonton Oilers 4 games to 3.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carolina_Hurricanes

On this particular night, @carolina-girl, an old friend of mine and I went to watch the Thunderbirds play.

image

Even though the Thunderbirds lost during the last minute of the game, it was still a great game and we had a lot of fun. I particularly enjoyed watching the cheerleaders:)

image

I was amazed at how they could dance on ice while wearing cowboy boots!

image

Here's me getting a drink at the bar. I wasn't feeling any pain. #crownroyalappleshots 😄

image

I thought this was a cool pic of the goalie!

image

I was about to die wanting to drive this thing!!!

image

I was surprised that no fights broke out. The last Hurricane game I went to, a fight broke out about every 30 seconds lol.

image

All in all we had a great time watching these guys! I really enjoy watching hockey in person and hope to one day catch a puck... voluntarily. This guy caught a puck...voluntarily.

image

Paying homage to our friends up North.

image

I hope you guys enjoyed tagging along us to this hockey game. Feel free to follow along with me on this Steemit journey as I have many stories I want to share with you! @bluelightbandit

image

Sort:  

I am a rink rat from the time I could walk/skate. It's a Canadian thing, just like having maple syrup running in your veins! The machine you wanted to ride is called a Zamboni, after the man who invented it. In the old days, we used to say we went to the fights and a hockey game broke out. I don't like hockey...much! LOL

Haaaha, thats funny! I've always wanted to try ice skating but never have. Maybe one day I can if I ever get my feet straightened out. Thanks for the visit, I was just thinking about you the other day.

I hope it was good thoughts! LOL

@cesicastor! I didn't know you are Canadian...what province? (I'm in Ontario, about 2.5 east of Toronto.)

I used to live close to London, Ontario. About 6 km north of the airport along the Thames River. There a few Canucks here on Steemit...

Looks like you all had a great time! Good to see.
Was it heated where you were seated?

No, it was pretty cold. We went last night again and CG took a blanket this time.

I watch hockey like I watch nascar, for the fights and the crashes. If you ever get a chance see if you can find a AAA hockey league, its like college age guys but guys that didn't make the college team. ALOT more fights!

Yeah I was kinda bummed as well as shocked that no fights broke out in this game.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Congratulations @bluelightbandit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!