How I DIDN'T spend Christmas

in #holidays6 years ago

I know that the holiday season is a big deal for a lot of people, and it has been for me in the past as well. This year, though, my husband and I just weren't feeling it. We were stressed and worn out and tired. We decided earlier in the year that our Christmas present was going to be our trip to Ireland this fall, because that was way more important to us. We also decided to go ahead and do some stocking presents so we'd have something for the other person to unwrap, because that's fun. I got a new dance bag and some crystals, and I couldn't have been more thrilled! But we just weren't in "the holiday spirit."

We went to one party. We avoided the malls and shopping centers like the plague. We didn't even listen to much Christmas music, although I'm a dancer so I did watch The Nutcracker in my pajamas.

What we did this year that was different from other years is that we invested in our future. Even going to Ireland was a part of that. We took the money that would have gone to presents and instead invested it in our cryptocurrency account. And we made some quality-of-life upgrades with some new pillows and the water filter system we've been wanting for a year and a half. We talked about our future and goals and what we could do to achieve them.

We DIDN'T socialize much. We DIDN'T buy into the hype and consumerism. We DIDN'T stress over friends and family and presents. We got lots of sleep, watched Game of Thrones, spent lots of time on the couch, ate good food, and RELAXED. We put money towards our future selves and goals and thought of ways to be healthier and happier now. It was the best holiday season!