Autumnal Window Treatments

in #home2 years ago

C4D25A08-03DF-4308-90B8-960C5DF29ED8.jpeg

Function meets beauty always for the win!



Mom supplied me a box full of lichen per my request so I could use it to both decorate and gather moisture between the windows.

This is a really old trick that was used here in the north but something you rarely see anymore. I remember admiring these kind of window decorations at my aunts house when I was little but I didn’t know that they actually surved another purpose beside looking pretty.

You could really go all the way and add all sorts of decorations along with the lichen, I went pretty basic with a few branches of heather, lingonberries and a lone pinecone. I think it would really beautiful to put some battery powered led candles in there for the holiday season, I’ll probably do that for some windows.

B25ADEB1-C2EF-439C-8B9F-D807D5CD029B.jpeg

I love blurring the lines where nature ends and the home begins.

Sort:  

What a great decoration trick, @eveuncovered ! The result is awesome! Here in Portugal, traditional country side windows aren't from that type. The double function of that solution is so cleaver!

You have single pane windows there right? So that it gets all cold and damp in the winter 🥶

Exactly... Houses aren't has well "prepared" has yours. In my home, I have single pane window, but with double glass... Not perfect, but better 😅

It’s like you want to suffer intentionally and think it’s summer all year round 😝

You know you're next-level when your nail polish matches the window decorations.

Out here living that Instagram-lifestyle 💅🏼

Wow, never seen anything like that. Looks great!

Pretty cool right :)

This is so beautiful.

Nice to have something a little different from most people :)