Homebrew Tasting: HQ Brown

in #homebrew8 years ago

Hello Steem, 

As an avid homebrewer I could think of no better way than to share with you my knowledge of brewing beer at home. There is a lot to go over, so for now I will start with a simple tasting.

In the beer fridge today is the latest brew, a brown ale recipe I made using BeerSmith and a new all-grain set up along with my primary equipment.

Recipe:

Brew Date: 20 May 2016

Type: All Grain
Brewer: Treetops

Batch Size: 4.00 gal
Fermentation: Ale, Single Stage
Equipment: Pot and Cooler ( 5 Gal/19 L) - All Grain
ABV: 6.1%

  • 8 lbs Pale Ale Malt 2-Row (Briess) 
  • 2 lbsVictory Malt (biscuit) (Briess)
  • 1 lbsCaramel/Crystal Malt
  • 1 lbsChocolate Malt 
  • 0.75 oz Galaxy [14.00 %] 
  • 0.50 ozHallertauer [4.80 %]
  • Safale American  (DCL/Fermentis #US-05) [50.28 ml]
  • 5.5 gal distilled water
  • Bottled on 3 June 2016


Tasting on 2 August 2016 (about a month after bottling, good time to check the carbonation and fresh flavors)

  1. Appearance: Very dark brown with no transparency, eggshell white foam head with low residual retention. low carbonation
  2. Aroma: Yeasty with common oxidation, fruity, alcohol prevelant, sweet malty backbone. Slight nuttiness
  3. Flavor: Sweet dark malt with a light bitter finnish. slight oxidation that blend with yeasty characters and fruity notes. Caramel flavor, dark bread like pumpernickel. 
  4. Mouthfeel: Slightly undercarbonated, leaves the mouthfeel lacking but has great body from the rich dark malts. medium-low body, quite drinkable.
  5. Overall: Very pleased with this batch! There was a note of oxidation which I think has been the most subtle so far, and only after a month it is quite pleasant to taste fresh beer. Carbonation could be improved, I was utilizing the BeerSmith calculations for priming sugar and it seemed to be a little short on the total sugar necessary for carbonation. Well balanced and bold for a brown but hits close to that balance of a higher alcoholic and more flavorful beer without becoming overbearing or extreme. Would pair well with chocolate desserts, in pancakes and hard nutty cheeses. 2.9 out of 5

I hope you enjoyed me describing my beer. I really do advise the tasting method for serious drinkers. It is important to put all of our senses into what we are consuming, not just beer but everything. I would love to inspire you to do your own tastings of whatever you like. 

Cheers!

Sort:  

I upvoted You

Informative! Looking forward to more interesting details in your next tasting! Thanks for sharing!

I used to be a homebrewer too...
So sad I had to stop because of lacking of space and time

Yes another steemit homebrewer! Good to see some brewers on the platform representing! Followed and looking forward to more, go check out some of my recipe's as well maybe we can share some knowledge.