This is Home and Apparently I Own A Cat?

in #homeless6 years ago (edited)

Adam with Cat.jpg

Mountains with Snow

Oddly in my pursuit to be banished from the interwebs and fail myself again it really kicked in that I have a home and I really don't want to fall this time. Don't get me wrong, I was born into a home with two adults that said they were my parents but it wasn't home. You have to feel comfortable to call a place home. It took me 35 years to have that feeling sink in. In sunk in so much I laughed out loud and I tried to capture the moment for myself and apparently my new pirate cat with an even more pirate style (as of on the open sea) self here:

And fuck yeah I said pirate cat. I'm not sure if he'll (she'll?) stick it out but I hope so. HB is his name. At least while he comes to visit me. And in order to fully understand the magnitude of my shock at being a pirate cat owner I'll first need to explain that having a pirate cat wasn't possible for me about a month ago. Owning a pirate cat on the streets is like trying to make an ice cube last at an ice cream parlor on 4th of July in Death Valley, but harder. That's why I laughed earlier. In not on the streets. I live in a sober living house (hotel) and for HB and I it certainly beats the streets. How HB found me in the middle of all these rooms at 11:30pm two nights ago with temperatures well below freezing and wind chill factor that literally took my breathe away is beyond me. Not to my girl currently incarcerated in a MO state facility though. Her response after I excitedly explained what had transpired the night before was a cute Oh followed by a chuckle mixed up with fuck but lead with the F and then, only you.

Not that the pirate cat picked my room of all the rooms in the hotel almost in the middle of no where. That's not why she fuckled me (lol). It's that HB was also homeless and a trap and release. Those two things in addition to being one lucky pirate cat he (she?) and I paralleled on exactly. We covered my homelessness but not my personal trap and release. Like my girl is about to finish up with in prison, I did nine months in county just before we met. That was only the last time if you catch my drift. So it was a justified fuckling (lol).

All that's behind is now I hope. Not just for me but this is home. This is home for me, my girl she she gets out and for HB the late cat of he so chooses and I can talk the sober living house into it, but I can be pretty persuasive. If I believe in something and I believe there is an answer to homelessness and it starts by owning our doors to three legged hungry pirate cats randomly scratching at your door in the middle of no where even if they aren't sure they'll stay. Yeah three legs is a part of why I call him a pirate cat. Sorry if I offend real pirates out there, but give a guy a break if makes for a better tail (showing and pun intended).

Below are pictures of where I was born and raised in the mountains of Colorado and some projects that HB and I will be working on to make this our home so we can enjoy it and Ciia doesn't feel like she's going from prison to prison.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/bL00EvGlvXJAn8872

The ham cut in half should grow out to be pretty cool from what I hear. I haven't Eben bothered to look it up honestly, but I'll take my grandma's word for it. That and the clippings of various vines are symbolic of our growth this next year and beyond. For me at least. HB and Ciia may feel differently. The ivory canvas was found in an alley and is going to be a painting of a slide of a comic I started while in jail called 2 Cent Stamp. Originally a Nike Swoosh advertisement. Reduce, reuse and recycle my fellow man and woman. Drawing pad goes without saying. The main jar basically empty, my back account after
addiction and pounding the pavement 😞.

I have a lot of people to thank for being where I am right now, but thanking on that level requires thought and sincerity. Right now HB and I are in pirate mode. Going to jam some tunes and make some black tea mixed with instant coffee (my jail house and now sober meth/crack).

Here's to Hector Barbosa, Ciia, my family, my friends, my support, my neighbors, Anyone who read or intends to read anything I've written here, Steemit, Steemians and anyone who wonders the endless dark and lonely streets cheers and Salud!

Eventually I'll need to figure out another way of doing this but thanks for your Steem and for saving my life:

@mikeparker @moneychum @sharingsociety @hakan0356 @wildstone @yanplanet @diegosoto13 @m3rcs1ty @technogadgets @catfacts @agar @authors.leage @elzaevtimova @minnowsupport @gomervibz @lastaminuteman @steemprentice @stephen.king989 @networkallstar @gamerveda @saysay @dorabot @originalworks2 @jhermanbeans @dickturpin @pomperipossa @looftee @walkerland @oliver85 and for the laughs @rawdoctor

Thanks for reading another,

AdamRant

Sort:  

Miao!

I like to pronounce it me-ow.

I like the way you Roar!!! ( :

Your fucking awesome!

Thanks Mate! On Fire!

I'll get nasty when I get my computer going. Stay tuned. Should be soon.

Im genuinely interested to hear more of your story! Get it sorted and ill see your post when its out!

The cat's tail is used to maintain balance.

Until I read your name.... You're rad!

Phoenician cargo ships are thought to have brought the first domesticated cats to Europe in about 900 BC.

Tabby cats are thought to get their name from Attab, a district in Baghdad, now the capital of Iraq.

A cat’s eyesight is both better and worse than humans. It is better because cats can see in much dimmer light and they have a wider peripheral view. It’s worse because they don’t see color as well as humans do. Scientists believe grass appears red to cats.

Cats are extremely sensitive to vibrations. Cats are said to detect earthquake tremors 10 or 15 minutes before humans can.

Cats bury their feces to cover their trails from predators.

Since cats are so good at hiding illness, even a single instance of a symptom should be taken very seriously.

I really like you.

During the Middle Ages, cats were associated with withcraft, and on St. John’s Day, people all over Europe would stuff them into sacks and toss the cats into bonfires. On holy days, people celebrated by tossing cats from church towers.

The largest cat breed is the Ragdoll. Male Ragdolls weigh between 12 and 20 lbs (5.4-9.0 k). Females weigh between 10 and 15 lbs (4.5-6.8 k).

What kind of cat is HB?

Cats have 300 million neurons; dogs have about 160 million

20 lbs.? A house cat? It'll eat my gma's dog. And my Aunt's for that matter!

Approximately 24 cat skins can make a coat.

A cat's field of vision is about 200 degrees.