lady this & that's laboratory; bug spray

in #homemade6 years ago

summer is upon us and the mosquitos will be feasting. keep them demons away with some nontoxic, homemade bug spray! i make a big spray bottle which resides next to my bed so I can spray down before sleeping aka prime time for mosquitos. Spraying down before bed is also super refreshing and cooling on those hot summer nights 🌙💫🧡
i also make a small bottle which l keep in my backpack in case I find myself in a mosquito infested backyard 😱
IMG_3635.jpeg

whatever bottle you’re using, fill it halfway with witch hazel, fill the rest with boiled water. The only essential oil you need for this is citronella (about 20 drops, go more for larger bottles). This is a must, if you don’t got this, then the mosquitos will still make their way to you. However, you can add other essential oils to the citronella! I like adding tea tree, eucalyptus, orange, and lemon essential oils to my spray. You can absolutely use lavender, rosemary, or peppermint too! adding other oils placates the citronella smell, which is nice.

bonus #lifehack
travel with a small bottle of pure citronella, yeah the smell can be intense, but that essential oil fuckin works and you won't weigh down your bag or check it in!