A Favourite Nook - Decorating With A Wildflower Arrangement And Flea Market Finds

in #homemaking6 years ago

Hi everyone!

After a few days of being absent on Steemit, here I am trying to catch up with a couple of days missed blogs. I have been busy....yeah, so busy trying to accomplish a few household chores and some issues with my three RN nieces on their working visa with the German Embassy. We did the garden, cut the hedges and harvested a few of my vegetables (tomatoes and raspberries and bell peppers ) , had a marathon cooking and of course, my mountainous pile of clothes for ironing which until now is composed of 3 huge plastic wash basins.

img 2.JPG

The weather is so unpredictable even if they say it on television that we will have a beautiful hot day, I am sure it will rain either in the afternoon or in the night. Since the weather isn´t that good for going out today, I would like to blog about a corner of my craft room which is my favorite area. It is where I do almost anything from sewing, oil painting , jewelry making using mineral stones. And because the round glass table is huge enough, I could place many materials and other things without needing to declutter them. I can leave the things as it is.

img 7.JPG

I was able to collect white and beige wildflowers during our walk with Lily in the same area where we always go on Sundays near the golf area. When I went home, I placed it in a bucket filled with water. I forgot about it because it was under the pine tree..It rained, and I spotted the bucket with 2 slugs that climbed the bucket and reached the flowers.. I felt so disgusted because the slugs has this slimy substance and I don´t like it ! After that I cleaned the flowers affected and I made this arrangement adding a few cuttings from the yellow rose bush.

img 1.JPG

I had been experimenting where to place the arrangement since the room has plenty of green and beige color such as the amaryllis, the chair, the star quilt and so on. I placed it below the roof window for the light. But I decided to put it on the round table. I think it complimented the beauty of the green Lone Star Quilt. The quilt was a tedious project which I did out of the dream to own a Lone Star Quilt one day.

img 3.JPG

img 5.JPG

Here, it´s simply a make - do decorating and all the things I used were all flea market or garage sale finds. The chair had been from a lady who worked with an embassy and who was leaving Vienna at that time and she gave it to me for 20 Euros. I didn´t change the upholstery since I love the fabric used. The vase was a flea market find I got two years ago . The white round tablecloth is so huge that the tablecloth´s edges lay flat on the floor. I like the appliquéd flowers, it´s tedious to make, I knew it because I made some appliqué work before . It is a typical chinese handmade cloth. The smaller green table cloth also came from the same dealer. I think it is perfect as background cloth for the arrangement, don´t you think so?

img 8.JPG

At times I stay in this nook to read books. I am not a fan of ebooks as I want to hold the pages physically of the ones I am reading. I guess, I still belong to the old school...though I can compete with youngsters as far as technology is concerned, lol! In my opinion, the good things in life need not be expensive, it is my perception for simple things that make living worthwhile. So, that´s about it for today and I hope you stay tuned... ´cause I have a lot more to share!!!

IMG_0287 AA.JPG

TGIF, hope you are enjoying your day!

Content and images on this post are original and are properties of the author. If you would like to use any of the photos from this post, please give source credits by linking the URL of this post in your content.

Footer.gif

Special thanks to @gremayo for the GIF

Sort:  

Ka relaxing say shoot pa Lang, unsa na kaha sa personal, I love your Lone Star Quilt, ka lisod ana buhaton @mers

Thank you Judy... yes kuti kaayo buhaton... it´s more than 300 fabrics pieced together...

Could not be a place for my little daughter, she will paint all the walls and will be happy to show me what she draw... hehehe ,, At any rate, it´s a very nice area to unwind and chill!

Thank you @ncyrus... glad you drop by... and oh your little girl would probably love to have this as her playroom...

es fügt eine Klasse zum Farbton der Gegend hinzu, wirklich atemberaubend und sieht großartig aus, du bist einzigartig!

Es gibt Frauen, die nicht gerne in ihren Häusern bleiben und sich in Bars und ähnlichem ausruhen müssen. Ich finde es eine Schande, denn es gibt viele Formen von Entspannung und einer davon ist, dass dein Zuhause der wahre Ort der Entspannung ist ... Danke, dass du vorbeigekommen bist.

Ich finde es komisch, warum es verheiratete Frauen gibt, die nicht in ihrem Zuhause bleiben und ihre Kinder ernähren können, stattdessen finden sie es amüsant, Bier zu trinken und Party zu machen, lol!

Es ist wahr, ich weiss auch nicht, vielleicht haben sie es bereut verheiratet zu sein un daher das ist wie eine hoffnungslose Situation und die Kinder leiden oft.

Grabe kaganda mg arrange ng bulaklak at Ang kulay mkabuhay sa taong walang pag asa,jeje

Hahahaha... sobra tawa ko sa comment mo Deevi!
From now on I will dedicate my future arrangements to you and tag you in my blog...promise yan.

Perfect color combination. Looks fresh and conducive place stay in. Nice photo shoot!

Thank you my friend,,, one of my forms of relaxation is to stay home and enjoy the comfort it gives.

I like the beige and yellow hues in this nook, I can sense a whole lotta relaxation and good vibrations... Ahhhh and you made it your studio, lovely!

Yes, I love the hues very much, a corner of relaxation indeed.
Thanks!

Beautifully decorated and looks very elegant... Those finds are worth it to have realized a nice corner ... Thanks for sharing!

Thank you @duday27... one of my passions is decorating and am very creative when it comes to my home. So I need not have expensive things in the house , just make do anything I find that is worthy