You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dealing with Opposition as Home Educators - @HomeEdders Challenge

Its amazing how varied the responses are when you tell people you homeschool. You get anything from 'wow, I think that's great!!' to all manner of criticism, or even just the disgusted sounding 'Oh...' with the eyebrows raised, you know what I mean?
I have been happily surprised though, at the random stranger's response. 9 times out of 10, they actually give me positive feedback, saying how great it is, and how terrible today's school systems are, and some even know someone or have relatives who homeschool as well. It is definitely getting more and more popular.

I find that teachers tend to be offended by homeschoolers though. Ive had several instances where a teacher finds out we homeschool, and they seem to take it as a personal insult and generally dont want anything else to do with us...

People are funny. :)

Sort:  

Haha yes I definitely know what you mean about that eyebrow raise response!

I get surprised at the positive comments I receive too. We have had several strangers commend us on what we’re doing, it’s refreshing when we get those.

Oh yes, a couple of my friends are teachers and they try to hide it or disguise it but they do get offended just knowing we homeschool. I don’t understand why they take offense, we’re just doing what we feel is best for our kids. I laugh inside when they ask me questions about what they’re learning or how is our school going. I can’t help but to think there’s more behind those questions.

"What, you think you can do a better job than a professional? Oh, and you did? Harrumph!"

😄