Self-Image, Homeschooling Blog, Grade Seven Language Arts

Self Image

Self image is the same as self - concept. They are the ways we think about ourselves, the ideas and opinions we have of ourselves. I see myself as having a good sense of humour and being resilient and optimistic . People tell me that I am funny all the time. I don’t know how else they think of me. It’s not that important.

You need a good self-image to feel good about yourself and to do well in the world. Otherwise, you won’t have confidence and instead will have a lot of anxiety. People might not want to be your friend or give you a job. Bullies might target you.

Your self image can improve. You can practice things like positive affirmations, looking for the bright or funny side of things. You can practice and improve your empathy. Understanding why other people do and say what they do, makes you less judgemental of others and yourself. Try to understand everyone is just doing the best they. You are ding the best yo can and you are great the way you are, but you are not perfect. Nobody is.