You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Rabbit Hutch

in #homestead5 years ago (edited)

Haha, I doubt a pet owner would love the suggestion of eating their cute, little bunny rabbit.

As a matter of fact, there turn out to be countless breeds of domesticated rabbits of every description. Only a dozen or so are recommended for raising as meat. I am learning a lot in preparation, and we plan to attend a rabbit show in just a couple of weeks! I am crossing my fingers that we can bring home a lovely breeding pair or trio!

Thank you so much for your wonderful conversations both on this post and on mine!

Much love

Sort:  

Yes, I myself would not want my cute bunnies to be butchered if I have even just one! Waahhh, how could you eat something so cute and sweet like that? 😔

Are you and mattlovell together? Go and bring those rabbits home. 😊

Hehe, yes, @mattlovell is my dear hubby <3
I completely understand your feelings about rabbit cuteness. The thing is, we like to eat meat in my household, and the meat available in grocery stores is not raised humanely, and sometimes comes from the worst sort of factory farms that poison our environment. We researched extensively and learned that rabbits bred for meat production are the best at turning fodder into meat, fur, and high quality manure. They are domesticated from nature's prey animal. Rabbits are at the bottom of the food chain, and evolved to produce many litters per year to compensate. Our goal is to treat them with the utmost of love, organic homeraised food, and good exercise, and they will in turn give us ethical meat and enrich our garden soil. We are also thinking ahead in case of a major disaster, we will be able to eat the vegs, eggs, and rabbits we grow ourselves.

It is hard to think of slaughter day. Luckily, @mattlovell has experience from going hunting with his father and dressing wild rabbits they shot. All animals are cute and adorable sentient beings...cows, pigs, chickens, lambs, etc. I think bunnies may seem like kitty cats or puppies in a place where they are absent as wild food for everything from hawks and snakes to coyotes and big cats. The mother and father rabbits will be kept as pets and loved until they die of old age. The meat litters will be dispatched at just 10 weeks old, 10 weeks of kindness and fun times playing on the grass. We will be in partnership with them. Ecosystems have plants, herbivores, carnivores, and decomposers.

Much love and thanks for helping me organize my thoughts with your insightful comments!

Oh, that explains it. I was wondering how you found my comment on mattlovell's post. 😊

Wow! Thanks for the detailed clarifications. I think I am not in favor of rabbit for consumption just because I am not used to it. It is not common in our country. Even rabbit as pets are rare so we regard it as something to be taken cared of. Sometimes it is a matter of diversity. Who knows if I try rabbit meat then I may end up looking for more. 😊