Homemade Dishwasher Tablets

in #homestead7 years ago

I had commented on a post last week (@raincountry - see original post here https://steemit.com/diy/@raincountry/make-your-own-natural-laundry-powder) and mentioned my homemade dishwasher tablets. Well someone else who had commented (@bigbear) asking me for the 'recipe' and I promised her I would post it here.

ingredients.jpg

Well, here it is:
1-cup baking soda
1-cup washing soda
1-cup salt
1/4 cup citric acid (the kind used for canning food)
1- cup water
Vinegar
*Optional - Scented essential oil or lemon/orange rind (run through the food processor)

Mix in large bowl (I use a stainless steel one because I feel plastic may absorb the washing soda and this is not edible) baking soda, washing soda, salt and citric acid.
Add water and essential oil or fruit rind and let it fizz for about a minute. Once the bubbles start to dissipate, mix.
Combine thoroughly. It will have a thick consistency.

20170724_103214.jpg

Scoop approximately 1-tbls into an old ice cube tray. Use your finger and flatten down. Really pack tightly together.

20170724_103605.jpg

Let sit for about 12 hours or overnight to form more solidly.
Twist the ice cube tray and release the tablets. Store in an airtight glass container. Again the glass is my preference than using plastic.
Instead of using pricey rinse liquids, I add about 1/4 cup of vinegar to the dishwasher in the rinse spout for added cleaning and to diminish the chance of spots on glasses, etc.

Sort:  

This post received a 3.9% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @raserrano! For more information, click here!

Thank you @raserrano
SO grateful!

Up voted and resteemed. I love DIY household cleaners. I will have to try these out. I make bath (bomb) Fizzes so have most of these items on hand. Will have to pick up some washing soda - might try an make my own laundry soap too. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

I have heard a lot of 'buzz' about bath bombs but have never seen one or used one. I'll have to check out your page and see... do you have a recipe posted here on steemit?
I have used the homemade laundry soap forever! The dishwasher tabs I just started making couple years ago. I'll never go back to store bought

Hi @goldendawne, No, I don't have one on there but I sure would be happy to post one. I have been making them for almost two years now and my kids LOVE them. That and they are just fun to make and even more fun to watch fizz away in the bath tub too. I keep mine white - but have made colored ones at others requests. The colorants can stain the tub pretty good sometimes.

lol- I looked through your posts and didn't see one.
If you could post one in the future I'd love to see it.
I really enjoy making homemade items and this sounds like something my grandchildren would like- thnx!

Sharing to others to see this....

thank you for sharing!!
Much appreciated- I hope when people see it they may convert over to making their own

Thank you, this is well done. I am thinking of using a dishwasher with a grey water system and have looked into commercial dishwasher soaps that would work. Better off making my own, and something like this is what I need.

Thank you-
It takes me about 3 minutes to make. So simple and more than likely (aside from the washing soda) environmentally safe for people who like to use 'green' cleaning products. I have yet to find a better substitute for the washing soda.

Great post @goldendawne

I've made a cold water laundry soap before but this is the first dishwasher soap I've seen.

We keep the Washing Soda on hand as well as Borax, people really underestimate the cleaning power simple Distilled White vinegar has too.

Oh yes! Washing soda, FelsNaptha and borax are used so much in my house.
I heard about the dishwasher tablets a few years ago and eventually tried them out. They are great.

Thank you so much, I was the one asking really appreciate all your hard work.

Not a problem. I was actually due to make more this week.
Always a pleasure!

And to everyone who has been resteeming this- THANKS a million!

Loading...

Very useful post. I hope you enjoy your rewards.

MORE than you know! thank you again

This post has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 23.08 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @raserrano. Vote for Aggroed!

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 9.89 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @raserrano, @raserrano.