You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Food Forest Update - pictures around the garden - Sept. 26, 2019

Well, this is what I know:

My sister planted the original herb gardens in 1992. Then she left for New Mexico and didn't come back. I had a18 month old toddler and no clue about herbs. She had left me a detailed map. And she had put metal plant markers by each plant.

She left all her herb books here. So I sat down and looked up each herb and wrote whatever I found on index cards: name, common name, growing and light and water requirements, propagation, culinary, medicinal, other uses, and toxicity.

So I just dragged out the card for the pineapple sage, and it does say RED flowers. But this plant is what I have been calling pineapple sage since 1992! It was a benign plant that was bent on world domination, so I never referred to the card again. LOL

Now I wonder what the heck this plant is?!?

Sort:  

Pineapple sage really smells and tastes like pineapple, so it's easy to determine whether it is pineapple sage or not.
Plenty of other kinds of sage, though

That's the odd thing, this one does! That's why I never thought twice, until I saw your post.

Hmm. Maybe take a closer pic of the leaves and flowers. I'd be happy to try to help ID for you. I've got tons of resources. Let's see if we can figure this out!

Ok, I'll try to get good photos tomorrow! Thanks for your help. :))

Sounds good! You're welcome!