You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Plant Rotation In Your Garden: Why It's Important

I’m going to start following you. I’m in the planning stage of our garden. We recently moved into a 20 year old pine thicket. Cleared some ground for the house. Our soil is really really high on clays. Not even sure where to start. I’ve been making some compost using the chicken poo and old coffee grounds. I’m hoping that will help the soil some. I will prolly not even plant this year and just keep working and trying to prepare the soil.

Sort:  

es when we had chickens years ago I had no worries about rich soil, etc.. but now we have no chickens so I was spoiled before and never considered all the nutrients and concerns.

I've been reading about nutrients, epsom salt, coffee grounds and eggs shells recently to see what I can do.

Yep I’m using coffee grinds, egg shells and shredded paper along with the poo. I’m hoping it turns out

You may want to check the pH of the soil before planting. It's my understanding that pines make the soil acidic enough that some plants can't grow in it.

Thanks, Yes I'm sure the PH is high.. I'm going to try to get the county to test my soil and tell me how much lime it needs..