Sort:  

me too! It looks so beautiful when you've got pole beans and other vines climbing up the sunflowers.

I used them once as tomato cages, it worked decently well, actually!! Haha. And unintentionally a cantaloupe decided to use a sunflower as a trellis, I loved it!

That is a really cool idea. I like it :) I am growing most of the tomatoes in the greenhouse this year, I wonder how tall a sunflower can grow. I might try it just to see.

For my pole beans this year I'd like to try the tri-pod sticks as pole and see how they do. Last year my beans' harvest went kaput and I was discouraged.

I bet that will look really pretty! Do you know what the problem was? I have something fail on me every year. It always seems so random.

I have eight sunflower seedlings right now- Dwarf and evening sun and I am planning on using them along the back of the property's edge as like a its own fence. I figured the birds in the woods behind our house would enjoy the treat come autumn.

That sounds wonderful. Evening sun sounds so pretty! We get a lot of birds here in the spring, it's crazy! The first year I planted sunflowers I woke up to find a kazillion holes where the seeds had been. Then later in the season we found sunflowers growing in random placed from where the birds dropped them. Last year I had to cover the bed with a tarp until the sprouts popped up. New lessons every year!

The evening sun ones are a bright orange and I think will contrast against the woods nice.

Oh man! I hope I don't find random sunflowers all over the area- I think my neighbor wouldn't like that.

I covered mine with coffee filters towards the end to keep the birds away but I only had four plants. This year I'll have more so I won't be as stingy.

I'll have to take a look for some of those, they sound lovely.