Back Acres: Setup and Target Practice with 50# Take-Down Recurve Bow

in #homesteadersonline6 years ago (edited)

A beautiful sunny day today. I had to go outside in spite of the windy and freezing cold weather. Grabbed the recurve take-down bow and arrows, headed down the hill to the woods at the bottom of the valley to find refuge - a quiet shelter from the wind. This is the perfect place to put together the bow and enjoy a little target practice.

Many Types of Bows

There are many types of bows. Long bows, crossbows, compound bows, and recurve bows. This recurve bow can be taken down to three parts and a string - for easy assembly, storage, and packing. A take-down bow is easy to take along backpacking and ideal for a prepper to tuck away until needed. It can also be used for the homestead or hunting trips.

Take-Down Bow and Arrow Kit:

bowkit.jpg

  • Take-down bow parts wrapped up in a pair of huge leather mitts
  • Quiver with arrows and pocket accessories including the bow string and allen key for assembly
  • Light weight gloves because it's chilly and the string can take it's toll on my fingers
  • No-tear poncho tarp and handkerchief

Recurve Take-Down Bow Parts:

bowpieces.jpg

The middle part with the grip is called the riser. On the riser, above the grip is the hole for the mounted arrow rest, and the cut out space above that is called the sight window. The part on the right is the upper limb with a 50 pound draw weight. The lower limb is on the left in the picture. Both limbs have the same draw weight.

bowbolt.jpg

In the picture above you can see where the limb slides into the riser.

bolton.jpg

The bolt, washer, and spacer are hand tightened snug, but not over tightened - with the allen key.

needstring.jpg

In the picture above you can see where a recurve bow gets it's name - the bow limbs recurve forward.

stringallan.jpg

It will look more like a bow after the bow string has been strung.

Video Demonstration of Stringing a Recurve Bow:

Fully assembled recurve bow after stringing..

assembledbow.jpg

Arrows are made from Various Materials

Now that the bow is ready, let's move on to the arrows. There are wood, fiberglass, aluminum, and other materials used for arrows - these arrows have carbon shafts. Aluminum arrows are popular for hunting, but can be prone to bending troubles. Carbon shafts don't have the same bending troubles so that is why i went with carbon shafts. The fins at the back part of the arrow shaft are called Fletchings. At the very back of the arrow is the Nock for the bowstring.

arrowtips.jpg

Many choices for Arrowheads

The front of the arrow shafts are threaded for the attachment of a variety of arrowheads. In the picture above you can see starting from the left - the Field arrowhead, the Grabbing arrowhead, and the Broadhead - be very careful with all of them. For target practice I will be using the field arrowheads.

bandage.jpg

*Be Very Careful when Using Any Size Bow and Arrow

It's always a good idea to carry emergency bandages when out in the field or woods. In the silver sterile pack is Trauma Wound Dressing - 6" Hemorrhage Control Bandage. You never know when you or someone around you may need one - especially when the closest emergency services would require a hike out of the bush.

targetarrow.jpg

In the picture above you can see down the target range. I am always quiet here and listen closely for any person, animal, or pet approaching - great care must be taken for no accidents.

Target Practice Video:

This is my second time using this bow, first time since before winter - not too shabby with the arrow placement. I will have to make adjustments to fine tune the sighting.

targethits.jpg

A simple archery target setup made with materials I had handy. The amazon delivery boxes are filled with forest floor brush. The boxes are safely backed into the side of the hill - in front of a sheet of plywood.

targetview.jpg

In the picture above you can see the view back down the range from the target.

untilnexttime.jpg

Time to pack up the take-down bow kit until next time.

Previous wildlife posts you may enjoy:
-https://steemit.com/homesteadersonline/@jackdub/back-acres-caught-on-video-mountain-cottontail-rabbit
-https://steemit.com/homesteadersonline/@jackdub/back-acres-woodpecker-s-gone-wild-check-out-the-holes-this-wood-pecker-s-created
-https://steemit.com/adventure/@jackdub/back-acres-track-wild-turkey-in-the-woods-with-me-we-ll-sneak-up-on-their-hang-out-location

Have a great day!

Sort:  

This is so cool! I have never tried a bow, if I do shoot it is normally live rounds LOL Brilliant article, I really enjoyed reading this!

A lot of fun, and a good work out too. I was sweating by the time I came out of the valley. I have a crossbow and a compound bow that i'll be demo-ing too. Glad you enjoyed @breezin :)

awesome!! Sweating, in the snow -
Wait, let me start by saying YOU HAVE SNOW

Blank+_c851c7d1ea4f7a106a9c39bb801ad9c4.jpg

I start freezing my ass off at +20

Fantastic post! I think a bow with the carbon shaft arrows would make a great prepper tool/weapon. You can use the arrows over and over again as long as you don't lose them. I bowhunted several years ago and we used aluminum arrows. I like the sounds of the carbon shafts being much more resistant to bending.

It really is a beautiful bow. It's pretty cool that it is a takedown too! I like the simplicity of the recurve bows and want one now! Haha.

That is some pretty good shooting too!

Thanks for using the #myhuntingfishing tag. Your post has been resteemed and upvoted and this one is definitely going to be considered for an extra upvote on our last day (for now) of 1 Steem upvote requests being sent to an upvote bot for our daily winner.

We hope you will stick around and visit the other posts resteemed by @myhuntingfishing. We also have some chainBB forums. The main one is https://www.chainbb.com/f/myhuntingfishing. We have one for Survival too. In case you don't know (though I am guessing you do), chainBB forums are powered by the Steem blockchain. The posts that are fed into the forum all include the "survival" tag so it is a good way to get all of those posts in one place.

Thanks so much @myhuntingfishing - I appreciate your notice :) When I first recieved the bow, I too appreciated the simplicity. I was proud to have the #myhuntingfishing on this post, I've enjoyed reading many of the other posts. I have more in mind to post soon. I'll start using the #survival tag too. Thanks again :)

That is a great hobby! Did you learn all this for yourself? I was wondering if one could start alone...

I shot a few times when I was a kid, then about 8 times since I picked it back up this summer. Watched a few youtube videos first, and carefully read the instructions for bow assembly. I think you would have no trouble @zpedro - having the properly setup land or access to an archery range would be the biggest hurdle. Making sure not to have too heavy of a draw weight is important. Be careful. This bow I purchased on amazon for $220, had to wait the 2 months for slow boat, but I like the quality and it was worth it for me. It's a relaxing time whenever I go down to the target range :)

Seems great, @jackdub ! I'll think about it, also I guess I have to check out legislation in here because fortunately we have many restrictions to weapons and it may be seen as a weapon :) Thank you for this wonderful post!

Loading...

Congratulations, your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation 217!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


@ocd now has a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!


Many thanks @jznsamuel - this is great news! I appreciate your notice :)

Hi @jackdub, looks similar to my take-down though mine only has 35lb draw weight.

You've got a much better stringing technique to, I think mine's different every time lol. Frustration and pain usually results in a successful stringing.

@myhuntingfishing has requested a 0.951 Steem upvote for you by @booster! Thanks for posting great content with the #myhuntingfishing tag!

That's awesome news! Many thanks - more #myhuntingfishing posts will be on the way soon :)

Great post I’ve been having a look at take down bows lately. My experience with bows is zero so this post was very interesting to me.

I wish this was allowed where I am, it is but getting a licence is almost impossible, it seems like a good sport.

I really like your article here. I have shot a compound bow for years, but would like to dip my feet in the re-curve side of things.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

This post has received a 0.69 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @myhuntingfishing.

You got a 50.00% upvote from @greengrowth thanks to @jackdub! You too can use @GreenGrowth by sending your post URL in the memo field to the bot. Minimum bid is 0.01.

If you feel this post is spammy or not worthy of @Greengrowth you can contact a moderator in our Discord Channel https://discord.gg/6DhnVTQ.