You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Home Canning: Is it WORTH it?

in #homesteading7 years ago

If you are making it for yourself and not selling it you can save some money in the long run by using the re-usable lids that are available. They are called Tatlers and they are lids and rubber gaskets. You use the same type of screw on band. The lid itself is plastic. I would not want to put those on ones that I might sell though as that would add cost. There is also a one piece lid available. Not really designed for multiple use but I have found if you are careful when opening the jar they can be reused several times before they will not seal again. Also if you do not grow your own produce buying it at local farms or farmers markets can reduce your price substantially. Most of my canning jars and equipment has come from yard sales and thrift shops. Just check things over well before purchase to make sure there is no damage. The best part of canning is you control what goes into your food and if properly stored it will last for years if need be.

Sort:  

That was a fantastic reply. I will go get some of those lids you recommend! : )

There is a little learning curve in using them. Don't tighten down the rings as tight as you usually do. There has to be some room for air to escape. I tend to leave about 1/4" more head space to prevent boil-overs especially if it has to be done in a pressure canner. I have had about 95% success rate with them sealing properly and have found the failures to be caused by filling the jars a little too high or tightening the rings too tight before processing. Generally, if you put the rings on then turn back about a quarter of a turn to loosen again you will be fine. The packages come with instructions that are very helpful. I bought mine from lehmans.com Happy canning!!

I've used Tatlers, too. I use regular lids, too, because I get so many at yard sales for next to nothing. But the Tatlers do stand up over time. And my jars will outlive me, unless I drop them. Some of them are older than me, too.

Do you put a little cooking oil or spray on your rubber gaskets when you store them? My aunt taught me that years and years ago. She said it helps prevent them from drying out. Of course back then it was not Tatlers but the really old jars with the glass lids and metal clamps. I do it with the tatlers and store them right on the plastic lid so they don't go out of shape.

I've never tried that, but I can see that it would be a good idea! I'll start doing that, for sure. I do put the rings on the tatlers, too, for storage. Thanks for the tip and happy canning!