Bringing Back Old Crafts and More!

in #homesteading6 years ago

Hi Steemit Friends,

I've been exploring some interesting things over the last month or so that I will also be sharing with you above and beyond the beekeeping. I've decided I'm going to start looking at a lot of things that were done 40 or 50 years ago and to see if it's time to bring them back. Craft related items especially.

So my latest project is macrame. I learned how to do this super simple one off of a YouTube video. The measuring took the most amount of time. The knotting took maybe 15 minutes max. I'm just getting warmed up.
Hanger 1 pic.jpg
My next project is going to be much more elaborate. Since I have no place to keep plants because of my cats, I am hoping to create a few of these so the plants are far above from where they cats are able to jump from or climb onto .

I might be able to enjoy my basil for however long it supposed to last instead of having to hurry and use it all up within the week.

So that's where I'm starting and I just wanted to share that with you all. I will also put together a video on my next macrame project as well as some other things, I've been putting together including the beekeeping.

And now my big question to everybody is what are the old school crafts, customs or foods you prepare or enjoy? Let me know.

Until the next time....

Sort:  

Friend @altportal genia I tell you that what you just did or recover I really liked the style you have I think I would not notice that it is something old or old fashioned

I like to keep some old things I think that later they can serve hahaha or maybe recover them even though I have not done any

In my country there are many foods that have been for years for example we have one called rice pudding this is usually prepared in Easter In my case I like the food a lot in December there are also many paltillos that come to light and I like to prepare

I love rice pudding!

Yes? How well do you prepare it?

Hello Friend how are you? How have you been these days? I like what you've done thanks to that Youtube video. In fact, on that platform we can learn a lot of things.
Your plants will be safe from your kittens and you can have everything you like in your home

At home we have the habit of making our hallacas in Christmas we prepare them ourselves it is an arduous work that takes us many hours but the result is wonderful

This is just a sample of our Venezuelan hallaca from buying the ingredients chop them clean the leaves, make the stew, assemble them and cook them in the hot water, we make it at a long table and the whole family collaborates

That looks delicious!! Thanks for sharing.

Hey, that's cool. And thanks for the reminder that I need to post more. I do have plenty of subjects to discuss, like you were pointing out the other day.

Ah macrame. This is almost a lost art. I remember everyone learned how to make those pot hangers. Always liked them. Can't wait for your updates!

Even how simple that one is, it's nicer than any plastic holders you get with some smaller plants. Good luck with the new hobby.

Hello Friend how are you @altportal? I think it's a great project to recover things that have stopped being used, they can be given a new and unique design

For now I do not have any of this because now I'm moving out of my father's house I'm starting to do my things and see what I like most and what I would like to have in my house I like silvers so I'll probably have a lot of these

I used to have a cat and an aquarium with fish. The cat lived for 14 years and died. We sold the aquarium to young people. Now I have only a household plot with vegetables, fruit trees .. I'm happy!

Youtube learns everything a little without having to pay hehe

That is so true.

Nice post ! You got 18.05% upvote from @flymehigh. Earn free sbd/steem daily by delegating(renting) your SP. We share high return, click here to delegate your sp to flymehigh if you don't know, how to earn passive income by delegating your SP click here for more info Join our discord You can promote your posts. Thanks.

You got a 10.65% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @altportal! Delegate us Steem Power & get 100%daily rewards Payout! 20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500,1000 or Fill in any amount of SP Earn 1.25 SBD Per 1000 SP | Discord server

This post has received a 0.88 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @altportal.

This post has received a 28.57% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

Interested to earn daily? Delegate Steem Power to receive 95% payout rewards. Use this link https://on.king.net/shares to delegate SP to @Shares. Join us at https://steemchat.com/ discord chat.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

Excellent work I will wait for your updates great contribution friend greetings