You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Permaculture Consultation for A New Garden - My 2nd Suburban Garden - Part 3

in #homesteading6 years ago

Loved this, fantasic piece! I have a great big area over my septic field that is lush with tall grasses and weeds, I am hoping to smother the grasses with cardboard and do the sheet composting. Need more garden space!!!
Checking out your other posts now :)

Sort:  

Hey @amymya! How interesting. I have been thinking about how septic fields are great place for growing trees, shrubs, etc. with all those nutrients that are available. I wonder if there is any risk in roots damaging the leach field? I really have no idea how they are constructed. I look forward to see how it goes :)

I don't think trees would be a good idea, definite possibility of damage there, but I think veggies will be okay!

Hmm, that does make sense. How exciting!