Aquaponic Strawberries

in #homesteading6 years ago

Today I added another 50 goldfish to the vertical aquaponics system. That brings the total to 200. Only 50 more to go. I'll add the last of them in a couple of weeks.

I was happy to see that I have a bunch of ripe strawberries! I had to muster all my willpower to leave this one there for another day. Who knows though, maybe tonight I'll get my wife to pick it. She never gets the first strawberry of the season.

IMG_0740.JPG

Click image to view full size.

I have 70 plants in the vertical aquaponics system, around 80 plants in various wicking containers, and 168 plants in a 56 foot garden bed. Last year the vertical aquaponics system and wicking containers produced enough strawberries for our family to last until about December. This year I'm hoping to freeze just a few more and bring the rest to market. That's the plan anyway.


Sort:  

I love strawberries I have 22 ever eating strawberry plants I am hoping it will give me enough berries for my family for at least a few months. Do you grow any other fruit? everbearring * everbearring * everbearring *

I have a few various stone fruit trees and some citrus trees. I planted a bunch of gogi berry shrubs this past fall that have tripled in size. At some point I’m hoping to put in some blackberry, muscadine grapes, and hardy kiwi.

This is great, i found one of your old posts on your aquaponics setup and your fixes etc. both that and this post were great reads thanks for sharing

Looks great, good luck!

The aquaponics system looks pretty cool!

I've been following you on instagram for months. I'm on youtube. New at steemit. Glad I found you. Love the aquaponics. I have a media bed system with cucmbers in it right now... the cucumbers are growing like crazy. Look forward to seeing your posts.