Biologically Powered Tillers

in #homesteading6 years ago

I was looking at this spot in the pasture and thinking I should get the tractor out, till it up, and get it ready to plant some Three Sisters corn, beans, and squash. It's just been so stinking muddy out with all the rain we've had lately though. Using the tractor is just going to rut things up.

IMG_0645.JPG

Click image to view full size.

Then it hit me Duh! I have a flock of biologically powered tillers. I spent about 45 minutes moving them, their electric fence, and their mobile coop. The plan is to not feed them for a few days and let them browse everything down. By this time next week I'll move them to a new spot and this one should be ready to go. The weather is just starting to warm up, and hopefully by next week the soil temps should be hitting the 70's. Perfect for germinating some sweet corn.