Sort:  

What he said! I said you may not get the same results...you may get fruit just not as much or as big as the grafted ones. Some rootstocks are even adapted to certain climates. Like the ones I have. Some wouldn’t grow or be as hardy here in the heat and humidity of SE Texas. It may pay to invest in some rootstock for your cuttings or research if the cultivars will even work in your location without rootstock.

you will, and it will bear the same type of apple. It just might have a weaker root system, or one susceptible to a certain pest... or it may be just fine :) most fruit trees are grafted as opposed to straight clones in order to get benefits from both the root stock and the scion

Correct but I’m getting 20-30 free trees even if only 3 survive i’ll Be happy oh and next year will be another 30-40 trees. I’m not having to spend the money on grafted trees or rootstock.

I may have a pear root stock available. Then you can bud graft using your existing trees...