You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Meal Worms A Significant Survival Food Source?

in #homesteading7 years ago

I remember hearing about crickets as a food source from a Shark Tank pitch: Chapul

Apparently, their cricket flour protein bars contain more protein and 50% less fat than beef. Assuming they require roughly the same resources to "farm" as meal worms then I can see the economic incentive behind developing this kind of industry....
But between you and me, bugs are icky and I don't want to eat them :D

Sort:  

Icky is the undersatement of the day.

Iceland made some kind of cricket bar, I heard from my sister-in-law. We spent so much time looking for them on a sister trip. Maybe she saw it on shark tank. She likes that show. No judgement from me, bugs (mealworms especially) are gross.