Learning the Art of Keeping Bees -- Part Two

in #homesteading6 years ago

WorkerOnFlower.jpg

A quick note for those who have inquired--I am currently on a business trip and will begin posting the remaining parts of my short story, The Hunt, on Friday and continue daily until it is all posted.

The following is a small excerpt from my previously published book, The Beekeeper's Guide.

The Beautiful Honeybee

The humble honeybee has been providing food for humans for several thousand years. Humans have long sought out this tasty source of energy packed with vitamins and minerals. It not only provides basic calories, but also delivers much needed health benefits.

The honeybee lives in a hive. The hive structure is simple, yet breathtaking in its beauty. A wild hive can nest inside a tree, a cave, in a deep dark crevice or even in the attics or sides of buildings. Bees prefer to make their homes in protected areas so they are safe from bad weather and predators. A wild beehive consists of several lobes of honeycomb that provide a secure and sanitary area for the bees to raise their young and store their food. Sounds kind of like people behavior to me. Honeycomb is built of many tiny hexagonal cells that function as storage spaces for honey and pollen. The honeycomb also serves as birthing chambers for the bee larvae. The size of the individual cells will vary depending upon the bees and their needs. We will talk a bit more about that later.

Who is in charge? A hive of bees seems to function as a single individual yet contains upwards of 60,000 bees. Some wild hives will even reach mammoth proportions of double or triple that depending on the location and how comfortable they feel with their surroundings. If there is space, safety, food and water, the colony can grow fairly large. An average beehive kept by a beekeeper will have between 50,000 and 80,000 bees. All the bees in the colony take their cues from the queen. A strong colony with a healthy queen is called a queenright colony.

How do all this little creatures know what to do and when to do it? That question is one of the great mysteries of nature. Although scientists aren’t exactly sure how all the bees are able to work together to create and maintain their home, they do know that most of the cues are given by the queen. The queen bee produces several different pheromones which direct the worker bees as to what activities need to be done. The pheromones tell the workers to build wax, care for brood, forage and store supplies. They also alert the workers that the queen is ailing and might need to be replaced.

The queen is not the only one giving off clues. The worker bees also produce pheromones that create just the situation most people have the greatest fear of—a bee attack. The brood (bee larvae and pupae) even give off pheromones that tell the workers how old they are and what they need for food. It seems that pheromones help the bees manage each other, but most scientists and beekeepers agree that the queen bee is the most important bee in the hive. Although she can be usurped at any time if the colony decides she is weak or ailing, without a queen, the colony will dwindle and die off.

The honeybee definitely communicates within the hive. As we have already seen, pheromones are one major form of communication between the various bees. The pheromones give clues to the surrounding bees as to what needs to be done and how urgently it needs to get done. But it seems the honey bee also communicates through dance. When foraging worker bees return to the hive, they dance on the honeycomb. The style of dance tells the other bees how far away the food is and in what direction it lies. It appears that the frequency of repetition as well as the direction of the dance gives clues to the surrounding sisters that allow them to find the same food sources. As they dance, the bees take slight pauses to give their sisters a taste of the food source. Just like at a big box store on a weekend day where they are handing out food samples to tempt you into buying their delicious food, if the worker bees enjoy their sample enough, they may just take a flight out to collect more of the same.

The bee body is a classic insect structure consisting of a head, a thorax, and an abdomen. In a bit more detail we find the following things on a bee’s body.

The head is the smallest of the three parts. On the head are two compound eyes, two antennae, and two mandibles which are sometimes referred to as mouthparts.

The thorax of the bee is the next smallest body section. Attached to it are the wings and the legs. Each wing consists of a front and back wing which are attached to each other on their respective sides. The front and back wings beat in tandem. The forelegs come out from the front of the thorax, and are articulated—which means they are jointed. They are used to clean the bee’s eyes as well as the antennae. The middle legs sit in the middle of the thorax and are also articulated. They clean the thorax and the wings. The hind legs are the most specialized of the leg sets. These legs have amazing pollen baskets which collect the pollen and bring it back to the hive. If you watch your honey bees as they land in your hive, you can see the pollen baskets stuffed full of bright pollens. I love to watch for all the different colors of pollens as they come in for a landing. The pollen baskets are actually hollows in the hind leg that are surrounded by long curved hairs.

The abdomen of the bee is the largest part of the bee body and contains all the vital organs. It also carries the sting. This retractable stinger is used to inject venom from the venom sac into poor, unsuspecting victims. Just kidding—the honey bee is actually very mild and will only sting when backed into a figurative corner. In my time as a beekeeper, wearing the correct clothing, I rarely get stung. In the past three years I have only been stung once.

PandaStripe.jpg

My book, The Beekeeper's Guide, is available for purchase on Amazon right here.

© 2015, Stone Golem Publishing, All rights reserved--no part of this may be used without express written consent.

**The picture is one of my bees on a tree blossom in my yard.

Follow @bigpanda for more flash fiction and homesteading tips.

Sort:  

A great insight in to the structure of bees and your book, hope you are having a good time at work. Bee Happy.

Thanks @steveuk. I don't love work travel, but the show I am at is pretty interesting.

Okay so you grow plants for them too? I mean gardening for them?

Absolutely. In my yard we have many flowers but we also keep a fairly large vegetable garden and six fruit trees. I wanted to put in some very large nut trees, but my wife said no way--the trees would be too big for our neighborhood. She was right, but I still wanted to put them in.

Just stick some sugar plum onto those trees so that the honey get more tasty xD

Seriously I cant survive without honey. It is a part of my daily life. And bees are very beautiful creatures. Enjoyed reading your post, thank you for sharing :)

That's how I feel about honey as well @hanen. Love the stuff on pretty much anything.

I love honey too but not that much with the bees. I still remember the pain from my childhood when they "poke" me with. Ouch ^^

The most favourite food for panda . haha
Thank for sharing , fri .

Yes--bears love honey. hahaha

You are so right! Honeybee is so important to us!
Friday I will be here to read more of your short story! :)

I am in California. I love bees so keep us posted. Love your channel! Joy

Yay, the hunt continues, been wanting to see what happens with that wizard, hope he gets what he deserves😒.....safe trip @bigpanda

Thanks @baelish. I hope you like the finale once I post it. I've been worrying over it like a dog on a bone. But I think its ok now.

IS good to know that you continuos with this incredible story, I enjoy so much the video of the bees. I hope you have a wonderful week

You too my friend! Thanks.

I have been reading your beekeeping posts and have to say... I am applauding you with this skill.
It is not a skill I could see myself doing so thank you for making sure we have honey and for making sure the bees can be out and about pollinating- especially my li'l homestead garden and herb garden!

Thanks so much. I love working with the bees. You will have to post about your herb garden a bit--my wife keeps one and we are always on the lookout for additional herbs we can put in it.

You can guarantee a post, or two, or more starting in April!

I will make sure to make a note of this topic- I can write a post... flower varieties and bees

Thank you for this great amount of information about bees and how to work bees inside the cell sure things are wonderful lies in the center of the cell how to distribute the work of the collective role of the colony of bees.
You should study the plants and herbs that bees develop

Big bee probably collect honey.DQmbppePKmh4ewMh6VWELNZnuMfxgV3qxnsYMnkHUTobScv.gif

🐝 are very useful to us. Keeping them is bit tough for me since I have a lot visitors every day so they get disturbed frequently

You make a incredible job! The bees are so important

I love the video so much of the bees.wish you a sweet week keep sharing

waow nice photography thank you for sharing

Beautiful photo very lively plus the content answers it all.. thanks for sharing. Bee's we're really are important in our ecosystem (they play a rule and a very important one).. dugos in our dialect is rich in vitamins that is very in demand here(a honey). I wonder how hard the process is and how long it takes. Thanks again for sharing.

the bees are the most neccessary animal for survival in the world. but we dont know their value.Have you ever heard propolis?@bigpanda it is natural antibiotic. the bee is all healing.

Nice photo
Good post friend @bigpanda
Upvote and resteem
Once visit my blog

100_1545 (2).JPG
Hello Panda!
Very well explained for those who do not know the life of the bees.
Me in my garden I have lavender, sage, hyssop, borage, cherry and apple and they feast!

Awesome article and informative i follow you Resteem

I'll check the bookstores here to see if I can get a copy of your book. I would love to read it.

if you are sick the old one does not recover, drink the original honey 44 times in every morning before eating the other, every morning 1 tablespoon, I like my friends post, visit my friend post ya.

Wow! This is a big additional knowledge for me. Ty so much!

You got a 1.27% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @bigpanda! Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Very good friend..

This post has received a 16.88 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @bigpanda.

Thank you @bigpanda for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 10.65% on this post! Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem! The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me! For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily? To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

You are sharing really helpful and valuable information.i read ur all posts u have great skill of writing @bigpanda ... Thank you for sharing this

wall this is great since i am following you

What is more cute a bee or a panda?

In the past three years I have only been stung once.

So, this is interesting. That one time, did you do anything wrong? Did the bee feel cornered somehow? Or was it just trying to be a pain?

Very informative for those who don't know this. Have a great day!

Love your post, its so intetesting. Dont work too hard, hey.

I live in Malta and use to Live in Morocco (northern coast) and they are both going through the same thing: mass die off of bees :( the effects are devastating. thank you for this information!!

Amazing Photography