DUDE! Why'd You Paint Your Floor Orange?

$9/gallon bargain bin paint, that's why I painted my floor orange.

100_0026.JPG

The floor is made of particle board and it was degrading into dust. By painting the floor, the primer and paint acts as an adhesive and seal to prevent the particle board (OSB) from degrading further for at least a couple years, which is all I care about. I don't care what it looks like, and I don't care if lasts for years and years, I only cared about the cheapest solution I could come up with.

100_0002.JPG

$18 for a gallon of primer, $9 for a gallon of paint, $5 for rollers, pan, and roller brushes, while using the handle from my broom in the roller and I've got a usable floor. I'll be using rugs over the floor, like the one in this picture ($20 for a 6ft X 8ft indoor/outdoor rug at Lowe's), so getting a $32/gallon brand of paint for $9 was more important to me than the color.

100_0004.JPG

This was my 16 minute update on YouTube for any brave souls who want to see what the rest of the mobile home looks like. :) (YouTube de-monetized this video, but is still showing ads on it even though they say it is not suitable for their advertisers. YouTube is stupid.)

Here's another project that was accomplished without much help from me, as I was priming and painting my floor. I removed the concrete blocks, but my 87 year old relative who I am staying with right now, built those new front steps and hand rail all by himself. This first picture (ignore the nice kitty) is the old concrete steps.

100_0029.JPG

My 87 year old relative built those stairs in about 3 hours over two days. We bought the risers pre-cut from Lowe's, we got the 5-step version but they also had 4 and 3 step options. The steps are 2X6 (in the USA). There are two metal braces attached to the steps and the mobile home, and there are two cement blocks at the base of the risers at ground level on the front. The rails are 2X4's and the spindles were $0.87 each, so why not?

100_0012.JPG

An easy but important project I also completed, was to take ownership of my mailbox. Some leftover black spray paint, followed by some number and letter stickers found at most Wal-mart's and I've got mail.

100_0045.JPG

And finally, this big old TV had to go. This is the 4th TV I've removed from this place, and I'm glad to be rid of it. Luckily, I found a facility that takes these old things to dispose of them properly.

100_0009.JPG

You can also check me out on...
YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/c/PeoriaDude
Twitter - https://twitter.com/Bobbleheadstead
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/bobbleheadstead/
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/peoriadude/
My Steemit intro post w/ video

Sort:  

I can see lots of progress. I love bargain bin paints. I buy all kinds of colors. It's rare that I find any exterior though.

I'm getting there little by little. I'd be out there in my tent if I was braver and still had all my cooking supplies for camping. Thanks

The chlorine in fresh tap water irritates sensitive parts of the cat's nose. Let tap water sit for 24 hours before giving it to a cat.

AMAZING

Mistinted paint. One of my favorites. When I moved into this apartment I got a month free for painting.. found a 5 gallon bucket of paint at Home Depot for $15.. yes of course my walls are Pepto Bismol pink... so

That's a great deal, except the pink part. Pink was the one color I said I wouldn't do, as if orange is any better.

That orange reminds me of some jumpsuits I've seen people wearing. They get out of this special little bus and clean up the trash along the roads .... ;-)

Love the color! It's bright and cheerful - reminds me of daylilies.

Those steps are sweet. I think they're going to make life a whole lot easier - not to mention safer - with all the coming/going you're doing.

Great progress so far! Cheering you on from the sidelines...

I don't mind the color at all now that I've got it down. It's certainly unique for a floor. Those front steps weren't on my priority list until I started using the cement blocks a lot. They will be much safer with as much as I'll be using them in the near future. Thanks

The block steps caught my attention because some of the houses I visit as a pet sitter have similar, uneven set-ups. Too easy to bust an ankle on a mis-step. So glad they got moved up the priority list and your safety is addressed.

Awesome amount of improvement done!
Hey it don't matter the color, it works for what ya need.
Check into low cost animal care (many counties offer these services) for getting your cat fixed.
I have had hundreds of cats dropped out here and cheap vet care is how I got them fixed ($20 for fixing a male was dang cheap).
Main reason why I would spend the money for the cat is you live in an area that has snakes and cats dislike snakes so will keep you safer along with rodent control.
Check and see if you have Osage orange trees in your area, they are great placed under your house and in under sinks and stuff for keeping spiders, roaches and stuff from wanting to live there with you (use an old knife to cut them and place the cut pieces on foil so they don't stain).
Looking forward to more of your journey!

I've got a few suggestions for local places to have her fixed that I'm still looking into. I need to take a day off to make phone calls next week. And I wouldn't mind having even more cats around there in the future. I'm hoping I can find a solution that'll work with the cat.

Osage orange trees, I will look for those, certainly worth a try. Thanks for the great suggestions.

Many country vets have cats dumped at their places so you might consider talking to them about taking some if they offer to fix them for you ;-)

Dear Friend your progress continues to amaze me. Orange looks good on the floor along with your new rug. Those big televisions are so big and heavy, only ones that are any good are the small. Ones with a built in antenna as they can really pull in some stations if you watch tv at all . Your assistant built a nice set of stairs , mailbox is a winner! Great work! 🐓🐓

The orange floor reminds me of the carpets which used to be in in the 70is - I guess. You found them forever in rentals :)

great job! so happy for you!
Melissa

The orange paint sort of reminded me of the first and only house I have owned so far. It was a fixer upper and when I bought it the walls of the bedrooms were all different colors. One was pink, one light blue and the one downstairs was purple. Let's just say that house didn't show well.

87!? That's awesome :)

Dude where are you? We miss you here on steemit. 🐓🐓

Hey! Where be ye and did you keep the cat?