You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Help Save the Bees: Building Resilient Honey Bee Populations

in #homesteading6 years ago

One of my goals is to have a bee hive here on our homestead. Truthfully I am a little intimidated by doing it and sort of keep putting it off. Before we moved to our homestead I was going to get them immediately in June, then that was moved to the fall, now I am looking at the Spring to start the hive. I think more realistically I will be planting a lot of bee friendly plants this spring to attract the bee's to our property and continue to do research before taking the plunge. I am not particularly interested in Honey collection so much as I am in their pollination skills. LOL the honey is more of a added benefit for me. thanks for the great share! this is definitely an important initiative.

Sort:  

Looks like you’re into it for the right reasons. I’d recommend making friends with a beekeeper and simply spending time with them, there’s a lot to be said for being around them. There are also many hive models, so you may find one that works for you.