DIY Sensory Noodle Bin

So you want to make a sensory noodle bin. I don't blame you, they're beautiful to look at and even more fun to play with. If you want to know how we're playing with this bin check out our Raising Renegades: Noodle Sensory Bin Video.

Noodle Title

What goes into a sensory noodle bin anyway? Well, noodles for one! You can also add every day items around the house like scoops, containers, cups, or ice cube trays for sorting. For older kids, colourful noodles lend well to crafting. I only had one hole-shaped noodle (penne) in my bin but you could include others like elbow macaroni, rotelle, or rigatoni for making necklaces.

Breaking Down the Bin Cost

  • Penne Noodles 500g - $1.18
  • Fussili Noodles 500g - $1.78
  • Bow Tie Noodles 500g - $1.18
  • Neon Food Colouring (4 pack) - $2.98
  • Bin $3.00
  • Scoops, spoons, containers, etc... FREE because I used what I already had available in my home

Approximate Total: $7.12

Rubbing Alcohol - Since I used what I had on hand I have no actual price to include, however, I have found this available for as low as $1.88/473 mL.

Noodle Play
As often as I can, I play along with the kids, especially if it's a messy sensory bin. On this particular day, I was sorting noodles by type and making rainbows. Not long after, the kids began mimicking my play. I thought this was interesting because usually they ignore me and choose how they want to play.

I decided to buy the neon food colouring because I couldn't resist its vibrancy but the basic colours were $1 less and, to be honest, they're much more flexible for mixing. I mixed the neon colours as per the package instructions and was disappointed at the limited options and variance. Regardless, I will have these colours on hand for future crafts.

How To Dye Noodles

What You'll Need:

  • Roughly, 2 cups each pasta (per bag)
  • 2 - 3 Tbsp Rubbing Alcohol (per bag)
  • 20 - 25 drops Food Colouring (per bag)
  • Large Zip Lock Bags
  • Bowl and spoon for mixing
  • Baking dish and paper towel for drying
  • Cardboard for dividing, if desired

Pour your pasta portions into large zip lock bags. I chose to mix my noodles to create a variety of colours and shapes. For each bag you'll want to mix the food colouring and rubbing alcohol into a dish together before pouring it into the noddle bag. Let the noodles marinate for 10 - 15 minutes while shaking the bags every few minutes.

Making Noodles
(L) Marinating noodles | (R) Drying noodles between dividers

When they're ready, line a baking pan with paper towel and carefully empty the bag. I chose to use cardboard I had lying around to keep the colours separated but, if you're not a perfectionist, don't sweat it if a few noodles touch and become multi-coloured. Let the noodles dry overnight then transfer them to a storage container of your choice.

The first time I tried to dye my noodles they came out spotty. Truthfully, my kids would have still loved them but the perfectionist in me couldn't help but dye them a second time. So, if the dye job doesn't work perfectly, don't panic, you can try again.

Noodle Play
Can sensory bins be messy? Absolutely! But you can curb the mess by playing along with your kiddos. I also believe that my biggest periods of growth as an adult are messy, so it makes sense for kids to be messy too.

All photos in this post are original work by Mrs. Canadian Renegade.


20180516_002249_0001.png


Canadian renegade Logo


Thanks for reading everyone! Please upvote, follow, and resteem to support this work. As always, comments are welcome.

Sort:  

Nice job Mama! The kids in my life are almost 8 months 4, 5, 14 & 16. I can't help but think about how fun it might be to play with these! Thanks for describing how to make them!! I will let you know if i give it a try.

GO! Do it! Get off steem! make noodles!

I honestly think this bin is fun for so many age groups. When I first put it together I thought I wasn't be creative enough but that's the beauty of the bin! The more simple they are, the more imagination the kids use. I can't wait to hear about your results. -A

Now that's a title - had to click to see what it was about! fun fun. My kid used to love the tupperware drawer. Poor underpriveldged child didn't have a noodle bin...

Thanks! My kids LOVE Tupperware. They played with a lot of bowls and ladles. Actually, they still do. We are staying with my parents right now so digging through those cupboards is off limits but I plan on having a safe cupboard for them to dig through when we are in our own place. I have a cube shelf to store their toys and one shelf always has plastic yogurt/ cottage cheese/soup bowls. Sometimes my son BEGS me for his blue bowl because he loves playing with it. Sounds like your kids weren't hard done by afterall! 🙃 -A

Kid. Haha... no, he survived.

Posted using Partiko Android