You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Permaculture Consultation for A New Garden - My 2nd Suburban Garden - Part 3

Great tour! All your points are very educational. I love how different tips can vary by regions and olant, it makes gardening like solving a jigg saw puzzle where the right fit ends in happy bellies. You mention growing vining plants along light coloured walls to reduce the heat, where the greenhouse I used to work with always recommended that same place for heat loving tomatoes.

When I first started gardening with Matt I was appalled at how he would pull or chop down weeds and just leave their greens to rot on the soil. I had been taught tidy gardening practices, which also happen to miss out on this soil enriching practice. Comfrey also makes a wonderful chop and drop plant to keep in the garden.

I also recall rummaging through local recycle bin programs with Matt for cardboard to rid grass in preparation of new or expanding garden beds.

Great tips! Aimee

Sort:  

How fun! There is so much to learn in gardening :) How fun that you are both adventuring together in your garden activities :)