Sort:  

Try out some hogs in pen areas that you would like to improve. We have had hog and goat pens in certain areas for last couple years and are getting ready to run them out onto pasture and clear the area for planting next year. Where we had sand a couple years ago we have rich dark soil now. The hogs do a good job tilling the soil and breaking everything up for you and all the hay the hogs or goats leave in the pens from bedding or from them just not eating it all will start to break down and produce a nice dark rich soil for growing. I added a nice size worm farm that I produce worm tea from to spray in my padlocks and on my crops also. Worms are great also because the multiply fast. I don't know of many investments that double every couple months. What type of fruit trees do you have?

Sounds like a great idea. I will look into hogs for next year. I have papaya, pomegranate, figs, mango, coconut, kumquat, lemon, lime, noni, sweet almond, icaco fruit trees and one lonely cashew. I also grow grapes, passion fruit, dragon fruit, bananas and plantain. All on a very small homestead, can't see the house for the fruit!

Nicaragua is a tropical climate? I have heard it is more difficult to build soil up in tropical climates.

A little more diligence, but nothing that can't be handled. Dry season can be a bear...