You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 100 Year Old Roadside WATER WELL Is Revealed Again

in #homesteading6 years ago

Now I am jealous. Because we are 600 meters from the ocean. too shallow means we get Brackish water. We have been told by a well expert that there are artesian waters but we would have to drill more than 500 feet throuh rock. At $100 per foot (his price) I think it a might pricey...

Sort:  

The rainwater catchment they use at an American homestead is very effective, copy it. If they put a tank in their crawlspace under the house too, they could use it in the winter without worry about freezing. My lake is not ocean size, but it is hydroelectric so it won't go dry. The neighbors wells are 80 ft to water, and with the sandy loam, the water flows well (pun intended).

The ocean is a great heatsink, you should use it for heat and cool. You could save a fortune! You can beat me on fishing, that's for sure, LOL.

I use a water catchment system similar to @mericanhomesead but are a little different here. We have about 7 months of dry season, really hot, windy and not one drop of rain. We have no snow (tropics) therefore have no freezing problems. W use no heating or cooling systems since we are on a hill and have ocean breezes every day. Been thinking about how to use the ocean to provide electricity.

Fresh ocaen fish is pretty darned tasty. Pargo Rojo is our favourite. I think that is Red Snapper in English.

That is a long gap in rain! If you get enough sun, a solar still of the ocean water might work. They use salt here to chlorinate swimming pools, by applying power and breaking down the salt. They recover the sodium, and resell it (I think), and run the chlorine into the pool. I think, if you out gas the chlorine up on the hill top, you could get fresh water from sea water the same way. Solar panels might provide you with the power. I have seen some good ways of using waves and tides to make power. On top of a hill, you might look at wind power too.

I bet those fish are good, I hear that Red Fish are yummy! We have Bass (Stripers, Sand, Large mouths, and Small mouths) in the lake along with catfish and padlefish; so it can be fun here too! Once there, I plan to raise Tilapia in an aquaponics system. They should be easy to catch, LOL!

Like shooting fish in a barrel! LOL

My kind of fishing for sure! A net is much better than a rod.

Guaranteed dinner! lol

Truly! I like tilapia because it grows fast, cooks well, and has a good taste. It is harder to do here because they do not like the low temperatures we have here. I will bury the whole greenhouse itself to take advantage of below ground heat. Should be an adventure. I have already bought the backhoe to dig it out.

20170111_173128.jpg