Raised Beds

in #homesteading6 years ago

Raised Garden Beds

Hello Steemits, we have been busy making new raised beds.  We are planning on making more raised beds. It has been a long process making these raised beds. I can not wait to grow some vegetables.  

We have a total of 3 beds so far.  We made one with a cover on it.  

I did some research on what kind of dirt to use in raised beds.  I decided to go with native dirt for the bottom layer, second layer I used compost with fertilizer, and top layer I used peat moss. 

The covered raised bed I planted strawberries and cabbage.  The other raised beds I planted carrots, peppers, onions, and tomatoes.  

I plan to make more raised beds and put fencing around the beds to keep the critters out. 

I hope you enjoyed reading my post.  If you like my posts, you can follow me @christir