You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: FARMER OR HOMESTEADER - SOME THOUGHTS FROM PAPA

in #homesteading7 years ago

I am not offended. And I have repeated said I grew up on a dairy farm. We made most of our money by selling milk and extra animals. Yes it does cost a lot of money to be a farmer. With little return on what you get paid for selling milk. Also I have never made big round bales of hay,we did the rectangle bales of hay. Manure was spread on the fields and use as fertilizer. Our animals had pastures they ate from and the crops we planted was used to feed our animals. We went out in the woods and forage for food on our property.

In my mind homesteaders are doing the same things we did just on a smaller scale.

My Dad taught me you need to be respectful to the land. You treat the land right and it will treat you right.

Sort:  

Well said and thanks for sharing your thoughts. What town in Wisconsin was that dairy farm near?

Wausau

We sold the farm after my Mom died, My Dad said he couldn't live there with out her.