Seashells, Seaweeds, Sea Urchins and more

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

My father used to be a fisherman. His specialties (yes, naa pud specialties ang mga fishermen just like doctors. hehe) were harvesting/catching seashells, seaweeds and sea urchins. It was basically their only source of income from the day they got married until few months after I finished college (I'm the eldest in the family)

Kinhason
IMG_8567.JPG

Lato
IMG_8566.JPG

Swaki
IMG_8565.JPG

After fathers retirement, (char! retirement gyud? o gud professionals ra ba diay pwede mo retire. haha) my mother took over the role as a provider thru vending seafoods at our local public market . The products she shells are sourced from fishermen in our locality.

Here are photos of my mothers stall at our local public market.
IMG_9770.JPGIMG_9768.JPG

I thank God everyday for the gift of seaweeds, seashells and sea urchins because we are what we are today because of the bounty of the sea and because of our parents hardwork.

Thank you for reading. Have a nice day!