Beekeeping - First Hive Inspection After A Cold Texas Winter (first inspection of 2018)

in #homesteading6 years ago

That day in February when it hit 80 degrees in South Texas... ah, those are the days I live for. It was so beautiful and I just knew it was going to be a perfect day to get out there to check on the bees.

There are three hives to inspect. I was tempted to split this up into three different videos, but decided to give it to you all at once.

Did all the bees make it through the Winter? That's the question I was out to answer during this inspection. Let's see how it turned out. Enjoy the video!


Don't forget to visit the "Cool Curator Contest" for your chance to win some SBD!

https://steemit.com/contest/@daddykirbs/be-a-cool-curator-a-daddykirbs-contest-to-win-usd10-sbd-1



Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Sort:  

What an awesome day to inspect and have the golden one helping! Tweeted!

... and now we are "cold" again :)

and wet....

... and wet.

However... we do need the rain.

Yup, I am not going to complain about the wet!

Me neither. Well... I might complain about the mud on dogs feet!

@daddykirbs where did you learn how to bee keep? Would love to know about it if i ever get a farm(first buy if i ever get rich xD)

Lots of online sources combined with one very short and very basic course with a local beekeeper. Honestly the bees have taught me much.

Nice nice, thanks for answering, how is your son doing? I remember he was sick some time ago, can't remember what he had though, i just remember he was in the hospital

His Pneumonia is past, but we are still challenged with some residual. Thanks for asking.

Blake...excellent news on all 3 hives making it! 80 degrees you say...it will get up here in IL at some point. 3-5 inches of snow yesterday. More on the way. Spring can't get here soon enough!

it's back in the 50's again and with rain, but it was a nice, much needed, little reprieve. You'll get there!

80 degrees. I dream of 80...lucky to get 20 here...and we're expecting 8" of snow asks myself why I live here Yay for 3 healthy hives tho!

Wherever you are... I ain't moving to!

😂 SE New Brunswick Canada. It's lovely weather May-Nov 😉

@daddykirbs AWESOME news, the hives are all going strong. Thanks for the post and the look around.

You bet Kate! I do hope all 3 make it into the Spring where they can start expanding.

This was interesting - I have been considering bees for awhile now but can't decide if I should have a go myself or get a company to put hives here.