Predator Frustration - Graphic Images.

Predators are a fact of life for almost every homesteader, no matter which part of the world they hail from. They can vary in form from tiny spiders that pose a very real threat to the homesteader, to huge bears that demand respect, and every niche in between. Sometimes they are obvious and the signs that defenses are required are ever present. Sometimes the threat hides out of site, slipping from your consciousness until the damage is done, until it is far too late. I think the latter scenario would be the most prevalent, as that is how predators excel at what they were born to do.

Here where I am in Australia, we have suffered from multiple predators over the last week, so this post is part awareness, part venting of frustration, but mostly mourning the loss of animals that we love and care for every day. The fact that some of them are destined to feed us does not diminish the care and love that we show to them. It is heartbreaking to lose just a single animal. We have had 8 taken from us over the last week. The last of which was today, a beloved family pet.

These animals where not lost in a single incident, but a series of attacks on 4 separate occasions. One begins to wonder what they have done wrong to attract such heartache and despair.

The first attack was by a sizable Carpet Python, that took 2 youngish chickens. We had seen the odd snake around, but never had a problem with them, so considered this might have been a one off. We caught the offending reptile and relocated it about 40km/25miles away, generally considered a safe distance that they shouldn't come back. Next to fall was a Cockatiel, with injuries that look like a small python had killed it, pertly swallowed it, and regurgitated it as it had bitten off more than it could chew.

20171229_152151[1].jpg

Two mornings ago I woke early, so went down to spend some time with the chickens in the early morning quiet. Once in the chicken coop I heard a very quiet, yet almost panicked animal noise. It sounded similar to the Baaaaa of a sheep, yet our sheep are never that quiet and were being kept in a paddock a couple hundred netres further up the property. I turned around to find our one and only mature ewe looking at me and I could immediately see by the look on her face that she was asking for help. My heart broke right then as I knew in my heart that this had to be the result of a night time dog attack. I could see or hear no other sheep so made my way up towards where they had been kept. That's when I saw the first of the bodies.

20170903_102730[1].jpg

Our little ewe lamb that had already been through so much. She had been abandoned by her mother at birth and we had to battle to get the mother to accept her lambs. She eventually came round and looked after her babies very well until she was killed, we think, by a venomous snake during a period of wet weather we experienced a while back. The now orphaned lamb continued to thrive with a little extra care from us and had been doing so well. We were looking forward to her becoming a breeding ewe for us late this year or early next year. She was quite tame too, because of all the handling we had to do with her at different times.

I went for a walk to different parts of the property, banging the feed bucket and calling out, knowing full well that the likelihood of finding any other sheep alive was extremely slim. Down by the dam I thought I heard a noise, so I banged the bucket and called again, nothing. I walked toward where I thought I heard the noise, after all, there where still 4 sheep unaccounted for. I banged and called again, a faint bleat came from the long grass, I worked my way through and found our ram standing right on the waters edge, looking very lost and very worried. I grabbed him and looked him over. He had a couple scrapes and a bit of blood but looked to be free of major injury. I led him out and reunited him with the ewe.

I then went back to the location of the lambs body and fanned out from there in my search for the rest. I soon found the bodies of the other three lambs in some heavy bush in our neighbors property. The dogs had dragged them to a more secure location before feeding on them.

With heavy hearts we set about building a secure pen for our two remaining sheep in case the dogs returned, which we believe they will, and have. the following days had been quite solemn as we process our loss and try to find the way forward. Then today I was delivered the killer blow.

If you haven't seen my YouTube video of my gorgeous Eclectus Parrot, Kuku, I will link her here so you can check her out.

Today, Kuku was not in her cage. Instead there was a large Carpet Python with a bulging stomach. Such a beautiful creature did not deserve such a premature end, but so neither does the python. It is in it's natural habitat doing what it was born to do. So this one too will be relocated. I write this with tears streaming down my cheeks. I will miss my beautiful red chicken. Fly free Kuku, I'm sorry we had to part like this.

15589939_10154301436198667_164078270707682787_n.jpg

I will include some pictures of the sheep as I found them as an awareness of what wild or stray dogs can do to your livestock. Please take all the precautions you are able to. This is not a position you want to find yourself in. We are quite heartbroken.

Thanks for reading.

20180301_083412.jpg

20180301_084315.jpg

Sort:  

I'm so sorry you've had to go through all this. You sound almost surrounded by so many predators. My heart aches for you and the loss of your sheep is going to be a real setback on top of the heartache. ❤

So often, just when we think we have everything covered they find another weakness. I'm feeling glad we don't have so many snakes here SA. I've seen a brown in the garden though and I'm pleased we have aviary sized wire and not just chicken wire around the chook runs.

Not sure if we are surrounded, we have gone a whole year with no real predator issues, so it's sort of blind sided us a bit. Predator proof pet enclosures just climbed a long way up the priority order. Thanks for reading.

This feels like really bad timing as you're probably not in a great place right now, but when you're feeling ready I invite you to look at joining team Australia. It's a strong community and I'm sure it will be of benefit. The instructions are at the bottom of this post: https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@choogirl/team-australia-new-recruits-28-02-18-and-what-s-going-on-with-my-dole-payments

I have no words. Please take care of yourselves as you heal from all this.

Thank you for your thoughts.