You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: EXPERIENCE from an "OFF GRID" Woman - An American Homestead

in #homesteading6 years ago

What a GREAT post! I am getting ready to start a series, "The dark side of homesteading" It will be funny, don't worry, but there is a lot of "glamorous mystique" about a lifestyle that leaves me with chicken poop on every pair of shoes I own... LOL! The idea of "self reliant" is appealing to so many people, but the nuts and bolts get a little messy, don't they?

Sort:  

Yes, we have chicken poop on our shoes too! It's ok, we love our chickens but I can imagine that would be too much for some people! I'll be looking for your series!

Lol! Be patient with me... I have a million ideas and only one me!

That is going to be a fun series to read! It's true we build up mystique around so many things that really are good things...but leave you with chicken poop on your shoes. It's important to stay practical and know that even the best dreams exist in the real world and you have to be ready to achieve them with hiking boots and a smile.

Thank you for the encouragement!