K.I. Sawyer Cardboard Sled Race Feb. 22nd

in #homesteading4 years ago (edited)

I organized the first ever K.I. Sawyer community cardboard sled race. It was hosted by the Gwinn Lions Club which I am now a part of. Basically you build a sled out of nothing but cardboard and duct tape. Then you race it down a hill.

Several businesses donated for this event.

Gwinn Lions Club: Host

Gwinn Furniture Outlet: Cardboard, food, and advertising

Adams Place: Food, and storage of cardboard to handout

Salvation Army: Food handling, food truck

Honor Bank: Cups, marshmallows

Larry's Groceries: Hot cocoa

Macasau: Duct tape

Marquette County Road Commission: Initial snow removal from road and parking lot

Marquette County Airport: Final snow removal and clean up

Stenberg Brothers, Inc: Port-a-johns

Ryan Lipinski: plates, napkins, advertising

There were 4 categories you could win in.

  1. Kids singles
  2. Adult singles
  3. Teams
  4. Coolest sled design

I had roughly 100 people show up for the event. There were 17 sleds enter for the Kids race, 3 for adult race, and 5 for the teams race.

Awards were for fastest time down the hill and farthest ride. As well as coolest sled.

Here were the rules...

sled race rules.jpg

Here are a few pictures from the event and some video slideshows…

l.jpg

I also received an unexpected award of appreciation for the community work I do in my neighborhood.

Brought to you by:

FBD Sticker 4.jpg

Sort:  

This is really cool! It's too bad I didn't hear about this in time, I would have driven up to watch the fun.

everybody said they want it to become a yearly event. im currently planning a neighborhood dance, easter egg hunt, craft show, bicycle ride fund raiser for parkinsons disease, community building book kiosks and food kiosks event, and rebuilding the fitness trail with 18 exercise stations.

That's really cool! I hope you get a lot of local support on those projects!

thanks for the resteem :)