How We Try To Make Progress

in #homesteading7 years ago

20170909_151624.jpg
As we continue to make progress. I wanted to show you some of the results that we have finished in this post.
It isn't always easy to prepare a place to look nice and the way you want it to be.
We have to have some tools. And then be willing to adapt to the conditions as we move along.
Wood isn't always easy to cut. Green wood generally can be cut without much of a problem.
But the dry, seasoned wood can be very frustrating to cut. Not to mention the increased wear and tear of your chainsaw.

I will spare you of the details of the long cutting period to get to this point. The tree is mostly dry and has very few green limbs. They are to be found only at the top. But we prevailed.

I know. No notch in the photo. That is dangerous. What we call "kickback" is always a big danger without it. Ugh
20170909_174246.jpg

After a lot of time spent in our cutting. You can see the results. Even though the wood was very hard. We never give up. Much like trading the "futures." It took years to overcome my fears.
20170909_175742.jpg

We are getting a huge pile of brush built up. I could leave it for later. But, I don't like to do that.
We are going to need a wood chipper. That will come later. But, we will. Too important not to.
20170909_155001.jpg

We have finally cleared out the area for one little hickory. That was a lot of work. I hope the little tree appreciates it. Ha
20170909_180027.jpg

We have two permanent fence posts. If we should need them. That is why I cut the trees high off the ground.
20170909_175950.jpg

I wanted to clear out this corner of the field. The bush was growing in the dead wood. A tree had fallen. Probably was struck by lightning.
20170909_140154.jpg

Now look at it. It may not be pretty. But we can work the corner if we need to.
20170909_153302.jpg

I am always looking to see if any of these mean looking trees are around. Yes. There is the ugly thing. Thankfully though. It was well across the fence on another property. Unless I would want to buy it. Hmmm Buying thorn trees. Doesn't sound right does it? lol
20170911_160133.jpg

Let's go to the lighter side of our work. If you spend enough money at the tool store. You might get one of these. Ha
20170908_123117.jpg

And for those that don't like "Chigger" bites. You could get one of these. I have been scratching for a while now. I am always happy to climb in the bathtub at the end of the day.

My wife uses this. I haven't yet. Maybe I will later. But, it is starting to cool down here.
Maybe the chiggers will disappear. I can hope anyway.
20170911_210139.jpg

That ends my work and post for this time. While it is true I enjoy working on my land. It isn't easy.
Anyone that hasn't had any experience in farm or homestead life. It can be a little challenging.

Safety is a big factor to consider. Getting hurt is always something to avoid by being knowledgeable.
And knowledge is gained by asking or study. Do be careful. That is my advise to you.
Take land clearing seriously. You can get seriously hurt. Maybe even the unthinkable.

Thank you for reading and following my work.

Francis

Sort:  

Those are two fine fence posts. You are thinking ahead... Impressive

@doctorjohn
Ha Ha. You are right. While they aren't very pretty. They do have a solid foundation to stretch fence from.
Just for that reason alone. It makes good sense to leave one or two in the line.

And back in the woods. Who will see them anyway? Not many people.
Thank you for your upvote and reply. I really appreciate it.

Francis

Looks like you can take the day off as far as clearing the land goes otherwise you might get a bit wet.

@pastorike
You are right. It is raining here. I needed to slow down a little anyway. I could get a little complacent. And that Increases safety concerns.

Francis

Great post. Enjoy homesteading and keep safe.

@chingpherd
Thank you for your kind comments and safety wishes for me. I appreciate it.

Francis

Outstanding @francisk!!! Well done!
That was a lot of work for the little hickory tree and I am beginning to think that you have those awful thorn trees everywhere!

@rebeccaryan
Thank you for much for your reply and Steemit friendship. You and @knarly327 have been my Steemit leaders, without which I would still be struggling.
Not as though I have achieved much at this Steemit point in time.

Yes, I agree with you. Those ugly thorn trees seem to appear on the land more often than I would like.
But, we will prevail. They can grow on others lands. Not mine. I don't allow it. Ha

Francis

Having sturdy fence posts is a must on a homestead. That was thinking ahead. Glad the thorn tree is on the other side of the fence. That one would be a bear to take down. Another good day's work.

@cecicastor
Thank you for your upvote and reply.
We are trying to build the land up and add to the value.
We will work on it until the day we don't. The added value of a property well taken care of will always
have some people interested in it. Not that I want to sell it now.
I just like to work on the property is all for now.

Francis

Nice post and good planning. Doesn't clearing land give such a feeling of accomplishment?

@team101
Yes it does. This time of the year is a good time to start that too. It is beginning to get a
little cooler where I am.That helps.
Thank you

Francis

Very nice @francisk ...Blessings

@andrewramdas
Thank you for the blessings.

Francis

Are you building the house or something ?

@vox00
We have been thinking about building a house. But, we haven't made any plans yet to do so.
If we do. We would want the view from the hilltop.
Having a large basement or an underground house would be important to me.
On hilltops. Wind is a factor to remember. Strong winds seem to be rather normal in recent years.

Francis

I arise thinking .. please reply to my comments because I thought about the following matter. .. how or what should we coral or we preach so many votenya.? Please explain.?

@stiuly
I am sorry. I don't understand your post completely.
If English is a challenge to you. Don't be sad.
English is my native language. And I don't know it very well either.

Francis

nice photography and great homesteaging

@sabbir24
Some of the photos weren't as good as I wanted them to be. But, I thought it was more important to not leave them out, so that the flow of what I was trying to do was shown.
Thank you

Francis

thank you

definitely increasing the worth of the land. and adding many Steemit "followers" also.

@rebeccaryan
؛؛؛؛؛؛؛؛؛؛؛؛؛؛؛؛؛؛؛؛؛؛:-

First, I thank you for this effort for the wonderful in this post and to clarify some things
But it is possible to benefit from the fall of those trees in many industries and also there are machines and equipment that are working to cut in order to protect the safety of people
Thank you my dear sister