You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homesteading Snapshots

in #homesteading7 years ago

Uh oh! I don't like it when people are impressed with me, that sets the bar too high! LOL!

I put the tractors in the garden area in the fall and let the chickens work over the ground and apply their fertilizer magic, so they did work out nice in that respect, but even if you leave the tractor in place for a while they don't get the roots completely out, so you will have a weed fest if you don't till, weedblock, or plant a cover crop that can handle the nitrogen heat. If properly moved the chicken tractors worked great as a means of foliage mowing and fertilizer application, my pastures looked great afterward!

Are you thinking of using a chicken tractor as a tiller and ground prep?

Sort:  

I was hoping they were maybe a magic solution to weed. Thanks for your input.

When I find that solution , I promise I'll share!