Sort:  

Buy frozen sea buckthorn berries, collect the seeds, plant them and use the shrub as a nitrogen fixer. Every 3 years you are going to prune the branches to freeze them in order to harvest the berrys. When you prune a nitrogen fixer , some roots are going to die, and the nitrogen nodules are going to be detached from the plant, and are ready to be consumed by other plants.

I know of roots dying back when the top is pruned. Still you are very knowledgeable and I appreciate your input.

Believe it or not Sea Buckthorn berries are not easy find in Canada. I have never seen them for sale. I would be able to harvest berries from the trees I had pictures of in the post I did on them.

I am assuming you started Seabuckthorn berries from saved seed then?

Yes I have started sea buckthorn from seeds. In my climate it takes 3-4 years till they produce fruit. Starting them from seeds will produce a lot of male plants, end every bush will be genetically different, end because of you're cold climate a lot will die ... but starting 400000 plants is easy and if you are left with 100000 it is still cheaper than buying them.
In august we will harvest the berries in Romania if you want I can send you a couple of kilograms of seed.
In the next weeks i'm going to make a article about germinating the seeds.

Traditional Hedge Laying

I'll be looking forward to that article!

Thanks for the offer on the seeds. I think I'm OK though. I know a few places around here where I can harvest some from city property and I have several plants of my own already. One of them started producing berries last year.

Thank you for the links ☺️