Thursday Green in the rain

in #homesteading5 years ago

I woke up this morning to a nice soft misty rain. When it got light enough to take pictures, I went out to capture more water droplets, because I can't help myself. Since the spiders are in full gear, I tried to get a few shots of their webs, but it turned out to be much more difficult than I would have thought.

IMG_20190926_091424176_HDR.jpg

I couldn't get a close-up that wasn't blurry. This is the best I could come up with.

IMG_20190926_091512443.jpg

The puppies were very confused to see me hunched down over the grass and kept shoving their wet noses in my face. They also kept knocking the droplets off of everything I was trying to shoot, which happens every time I go out to do this. Eventually they got bored, or tired of getting rained on, and left me alone.

IMG_20190926_122102935.jpg

The rain stopped by late morning, and the sun came out, making for a lovely afternoon.

IMG_20190926_122708358.jpg

I got a few more when I went out to feed the brush goats, but a wind had kicked up, which made it very difficult to get clear shots. Everything was moving!

IMG_20190926_135122777_TOP.jpg

I'm not sure what kind of spider weaves these webs, but there were tons of them. Close up they look pretty chaotically spun compared to the garden spider webs on my patio. But the closer weave holds bigger drops, and they were so beautiful.

IMG_20190926_135215279.jpg

This next one is a giant thistle. There are hundreds of tiny hairs and they all catch tiny drops. There were a few minor stabbings while getting pictures of them, though, since I have to get so close to my subjects. I'm used to it, though. Our hay is usually riddled with thistles and I always end up with a few in my fingers when throwing it in the manger for the goats.

IMG_20190926_135345603.jpg

The last two are more spiderwebs. They are addictively gorgeous. I think I just made that word up.

IMG_20190926_135424616.jpg

IMG_20190926_135432542.jpg

Have a wonderful evening, no matter what the weather is!

Sort:  

@goat-girlz Lovely raindrop pictures, natures jewelry, looks like diamonds.

Thank you! They do look like diamonds, especially when the sun comes out to make them sparkle.

Stunning images! I particularly like the one that looks like an old-fashioned beaded necklace.

Thank you! These are so much fun to take.

I love the waterdrops on the spider web!

Thank you! These are a limited commodity. Once the weather gets too cold, the spiders will pack it in for the winter.

I like today's pictures of dewdrops very much. The first picture looks like a web of pearls and the second one looks like strings of pearls. Well done. 😊

Thank you! The conditions were perfect. Nice light rain.

So beautiful! Your best is definitely good enough!

Oh, thank you! I've been a little obsessed with taking pictures of water.

Congratulations @goat-girlz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

@miti curation project.png

Thanks!

You're welcome!

These are really wonderful! : ) :)

Thank you!

You did a great job. I've tried so many times to photograph spider's webs but failed miserably. 😕

Thank you! It's really hard. With the close-ups my phone camera wanted to focus on whatever was behind it and they kept coming out blurry. A camera with manual focus might help, but I really don't know what I'm doing so that's no guarantee. I'm just winging it.

I honestly don't understand the workings of the camera. I'm not interested either lol. I know what you mean about using your phone though.

Puppies know what's best.... :-)

They sure think they do!

I found this post thanks to @miti-blog work, and his Curation Project: Undervalued Deserving Contents. Your work deserves way better, I'm happy to give you my upvote. Cheers, Nicola @knfitaly

Coltellinaio per passione e non solo...

Trentino - Italy

Thanks so much!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @hafizullah on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Thank you!

Those are really beautiful!

Thank you! They are really fun.

Raindrops!!! Love them aaaaaaaaaaaaaall!

Thank you! Maybe some of them will migrate in your direction!

That would be awesome!!

PB8ro82ZpZP35bVGjGoEdg81DteFexLroKsHJAKJnsedyLwoRWRj4RBwmjhgdJzoTJNsnBquajivFNVkMoNGvTiY1ZQNJmsRue4hr9KvdHbdVK5Q.png

Manually curated by the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Ooohhhhh.... Aaahhhhhhhh..... Wowwwwww....!!! 😮

Despite the conditions and the interference from your puppies you done a brilliant good job they are pretty awesome photos 👍

I'm here thanks to one of @miti.blog's curation posts (here's the link), and I think "addictively gorgeous" is the perfect way to describe raindrops & spiderwebs! I've spent a fair amount of time trying to capture similar pictures, so I know how difficult it can be. You have some stunning photos here!

Hope you have a wonderful weekend! 😊

Very nice photos of water drops on spider web. Have a wonderful weekend!

This post has been manually curated by PhotoStream: The Photography Tribe!

banner 1.jpg

Congratulations, keep up the great work!

Join Photostreem DISCORD

Nice photos, especially the really crisp and clear ones. You really would have a lot of fun with a camera and dedicated macro lens. It's weird how the spiders come out so late in the season, isn't it? You can't even walk through the forest without taking webs to the face this time of year.

As for getting things in focus, the closer you are to your subject, the harder it gets. When things are moving around, as you found out, it's nearly impossible. Did you see the little video I did trying to get a caterpillar dangling from a string into focus?

Any luck with your moster-puppy? Has he stopped murdering his fellow creatures, yet?

These are just lovely! I tried to get a shot of the dew on my clary sage this morning but it was rather a fail.

My favorite is the one just before the thistle. That one is mighty cool!

You got some great shots of the waterdrops.

🤗
All Beautiful photos @goat-girlz.
Awesome spider web picture...!!!!!!
I have not been able to take a reasonably decent picture of one. Yours is absolutely fantastic 🕸😊

Thank you so much! The spider webs are really hard. I have a lot of blurry ones on my phone. I will keep practicing until the spiders go to bed for the winter.

Despite all the obstacles, I think your photos turned out very well. I could just picture all the "help" from the puppies. And thanks to @owasco for directing my attention to this lovely post.