Around the Gardens - September 9, 2020 @goldenoakfarm

Kousa dogwood  fruit2 crop Sept. 2020.jpg


Kousa dogwood fruit

Wednesday was a day of chaos around here. Inspectors, plumbers, excavators, my intern, one lot of pullets leaving, and then my brother calls and says he’s bringing my mom and a young friend and coming to get his lot of pullets, and will be here around lunchtime. I was also working in the New Herb garden trying to finish that, and watering the little trees in rotation.

The first lot of pullets left an hour early, and that was just as well. My intern and I finished the New Herb garden around noon and went to catch the chickens. My husband had been in and out running errands and had just arrived back with the chicken crates sent out on Sunday. We got the pullets sent on their way and caught all my brother’s birds and put them in the shade.

I got a quick shower (still hadn’t run out of propane) and my intern and I set the kitchen up for lunch. I called my brother and asked what to do for lunch and they decided on pizza. I had my husband get me some sushi while he was out. My intern had brought her lunch, just as well as she’s vegetarian.

My brother and mom arrived at 1PM and we’d just sat down to lunch when my intern hears someone come up the driveway. Sure enough, it was the long awaited electrical inspector. So my husband leaves his lunch and walks the inspection. There were 2 tiny problems to address, but we passed.

He comes back to his lunch and shortly the plumbers arrive and connect the propane to the house. He goes off again to get them situated and we chatted around the table for a while. My brother wanted to wander the gardens, but my mom wanted to sit. So we put her in the new living room by the windows so she could watch and set off.

1st fence  NE aster flowers crop Sept. 2020.jpg


The first flowers on the New England aster in the 1st fence garden

We first walked the newly finished New Herb garden. My brother noticed my mom wasn’t by the windows, so we went to see what she was up to. She decided to finish walking the New Herb garden with us. Then she sat down again.

Kousa dogwood  fruit3 crop Sept. 2020.jpg

We went out to the backyard and ate some Anne raspberries. Then we went over to the Kousa dogwood and my brother tried out the fruit. This is the first year it’s had a real crop of fruit. I’ve been sort of thinking about doing something with it.

Kousa dogwood  fruit1 crop Sept. 2020.jpg

For a little tree it’s pretty loaded with fruit.

We went down and looked at the little trees. It’s amazing how much they have grown from the little sticks we planted in late March.

Inside my husband, and the young friend my brother had brought, were talking hunting and fishing. Then they went up to the barn to check that out.

Lemon verbena for drying crop Sept. 2020.jpg

I pulled a large bunch of branches out of the lemon verbena pile and sent them home to scent my mom’s bedroom and the main area of the house.

When they headed back home in late afternoon, I got the plantain I’d harvested into the dehydrator. I left the lemon verbena for Thursday.

My helper friend will be here on Thursday and we will be doing inside chores and loading dehydrators.

It was a very long busy day and we were both very tired by suppertime.

Sort:  

Absolutely LOVE the smell of Lemon Verbena! It has an incredibly invigorating effect. I love smells like that around the house. I always used to dot rose geranium essential oil around my moms room because that was her favourite...

!tip


If you are looking to join a great interactive & supportive #HIVE community on discord that not only welcomes ALL content genres but isn't just a massive sea of spammers and plagiarists... then come and join us in the Power House Creatives Server

I have an Attar of Rose geranium, the only type I like the smell of. :)) It's lived inside since 2008.

🎁 Hi @goldenoakfarm! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thanks! I do not have a Twitter acct. :))

Don't need one, if someone else tweets your content I will let you know.

That dogwood looks cool I didn’t know it was edible. I’ve also never smelled lemon verbena so I’ll ha e to figure that out!

My husband says it smells like lemon Pledge, the furniture polish. I think it's much nicer than that!

Hahaha, I don't mind that smell but at least it gives me a sense of what it does smell like, thanks!

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @deepu7 & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!